Monarcas Morelia vs Pumas UNAM – Jornada 11 Recap and Highlights

morelia pumasMonarcas Morelia and Pumas UNAM both had the lead at one time or another, but the two had to settle for a 2-2 draw on Wednesday night. The draw keeps Morelia winless in three and doesn’t help them much in their quest to avoid relegation; as for Pumas, they lost the chance to jump back over León and into first place in the table.

Morelia started the game as the more dominant of the two teams, but it was the visiting Pumas who opened the scoring. In the 13th minute, Juan Pablo Rodríguez fouled Fidel Martínez inside the box, and referee Óscar Macías Romo didn’t hesitate to point to the penalty spot. Eduardo Herrera stepped up to take the spot kick, and although Cirilo Saucedo went the right way, he was unable to keep it out.

Morelia pressed forward in search of an equalizer, and they found it through a set piece of their own in the 30th minute. “Chato” Rodríguez made up for conceding the penalty kick by sending his free kick through the hands of Alejandro Palacios to make it 1-1.

Shortly afterwards, Miguel Ángel Sansores gave Monarcas the lead thanks to another set piece, when he got free of his marker to head home a corner kick in the 36th minute.

The home team had just four minutes to enjoy the 2-1 lead, however, before “Lalo” Herrera completed his brace to tie the game once more.

The second half was an intense affair, with both teams looking to recover the lead, and both had good chances to do so. Morelia should have won the game in the 90th minute, but Jefferson Cuero sent his shot against the bar after “Pikolín” slipped, leaving the entire goal at Cuero’s mercy.

With the 2-2 draw, Morelia reaches 14 points while Pumas reach 22.



Morelia: Cirilo Saucedo, Carlos Morales (José Olvera 76′), Facundo Erpen, Marco Torsiglieri, Miguel Ángel Sansores, Armando Zamorano (Dieter Villalpando 53′, Rodrigo Millar, Juan Pablo Rodríguez, Ignacio González, Carlos Ochoa (Yorleys Mena 60′), Jefferson Cuero. 

Pumas: Alejandro Palacios, Luis Fernando Fuentes, Gerardo Alcoba, Darío Verón, Marcelo Alatorre, Ismael Sosa (Dante López 72′), Alejandro Castro, Javier Cortés, Fidel Martínez, Matías Britos (Alfonso Nieto 82′), Eduardo Herrera (Daniel Ludueña 84′). 

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.