Clausura 2016 Copa MX Groups Announced

copa corona mxThe Clausura 2016 edition of the Copa MX features 11 teams from Liga MX and 13 from Ascenso MX, divided into six groups of four. After a six-game group stage, in which each team plays the other three teams in their group home and away, the top team in each group as well as the two best overall second-place teams will advance to the quarterfinals.

The Copa MX features an unusual quirk: in addition to the standard system of awarding three points for a win and one for a draw, the Copa awards a bonus point to the winner – based on aggregate score – of each home-and-away series, called Llaves.

The competition kicks off on January 19th, with the knockout rounds set to begin on March 15th. The final will be held on either April 12th, 13th, or 14th.

Group 1: Chivas de Guadalajara, Dorados de Sinaloa, FC Juárez, Leones Negros
Group 2: Atlas, Tijuana, Murciélagos, Coras Tepic
Group 3: Monterrey, Pachuca, Celaya, San Luis
Group 4: León, Monarcas Morelia, Necaxa, Mineros de Zacatecas
Group 5: Jaguares de Chiapas, Veracruz, Alebrijes de Oaxaca, Lobos BUAP
Group 6: Cruz Azul, Atlante, Cafetaleros, Venados

1 thought on “Clausura 2016 Copa MX Groups Announced

  1. Pingback: C16 Copa MX Llave 1 First Legs: Where to Watch | Soccer, Translated

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.