CCL: América vs Tigres UANL – Final Second Leg Recap and Highlights

concacaf championsAmérica earned their second consecutive CONCACAF Champions League title with a 2-1 (4-1 aggregate) victory against Tigres UANL in the 2015-16 CCL final. América now has seven continental titles – including titles won in the current iteration and in the previous Champions’ Cup competition – the most of any team in CONCACAF.

With a 2-0 advantage from the first leg and playing at home here, the Águilas were heavy favorites to lift the trophy. Unwilling to sit back and protect the league, Nacho Ambriz sent out an attack-minded lineup; nevertheless, it was the visiting Tigres who controlled possession and eventually opened the scoring. 

Liga MX’s leading goalscorer, André-Pierre Gignac, got the universitarios back into the series with his 41st-minute finish. After a series of rebounds and partial clearances, Gignac received the ball near the penalty spot and he sent his low shot into the corner to make it 0-1 on the night (2-1 on aggregate).

That goal gave the visitors renewed confidence and they continued to out-possess and out-shoot the Águilas, but without another goal to show for it.

In the 67th minute, Michael Arroyo – who had entered the game just minutes earlier – scored a solo effort to restore América’s two-goal aggregate lead.

While on the face of things the goal didn’t much affect the overall balance of the series – Tigres needed to score three goals to win and, due to the away goals tiebreaker, a 1-3 win would have been just as good as a 0-3 – it got the crowd in the Estadio Azteca more into the match and swung the momentum towards the hosts.

Fernando Fernández had a chance to get Tigres back within a goal in the 75th minute, but he couldn’t finish off his opportunity. Then Osvaldo Martínez made it academic in the 87th minute, when he put América ahead 2-1 (4-1) from the penalty spot after Hugo Ayala was called for a foul on Miguel Ángel Samudio.

With the 2-1 (4-1 aggregate) victory, América won their 7th Champions League title and will represent CONCACAF in the 2016 FIFA Club World Cup, to be held in Japan in December.



América: Hugo González, Paul Aguilar, Paolo Goltz, Pablo Aguilar, Miguel Ángel Samudio, Andrés Andrade (Erik Pimentel 86′), Osvaldo Martínez, Rubens Sambueza, Carlos Darwin Quintero (José Daniel Guerrero 46′), Darío Benedetto (Michael Arroyo 64′), Oribe Peralta.

Tigres: Nahuel Guzmán, Israel Jiménez (Fernando Fernández 68′), Juninho, Hugo Ayala, Jorge Torres Nilo, Javier Aquino (Lucas Zelarayán 81′), Guido Pizarro, Jesús Dueñas, Damián Álvarez (Jürgen Damm 56′), Rafael Sobis, André-Pierre Gignac. 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.