Apertura 2016 Copa MX Schedule and Format

copa corona mxThe Apertura 2016 edition of the Copa MX is debuting a number of format changes, including three-team groups and a seeded draw, and with the release of the schedule some more changes have been revealed.

In past years, the top team in each group advanced to the knockout rounds, which began with the quarterfinals. Now, however, two teams will advance from each group and a round of sixteen has been added to the knockout stage.

The group stage will begin on July 19th and end on September 14th, with each team playing four games over a period of six matchweeks.

The knockout stages are one-game, single-elimination affairs, with the round of sixteen on September 27-28, the quarterfinals on October 18-19, the semifinals on October 25-26, and the final between November 1-3.

The complete Copa MX schedule can be found here.


2 thoughts on “Apertura 2016 Copa MX Schedule and Format

  1. Pingback: Apertura 2016 Copa MX Week 1: Where to Watch | Soccer, Translated

  2. Pingback: What is the Copa MX? Rules and Regulations | Soccer, Translated

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.