SuperCopa MX: Chivas de Guadalajara vs Veracruz – Recap and Highlights

supercopamxChivas de Guadalajara, the Apertura 2015 Copa MX champion, defeated Clausura 2016 champion Veracruz 2-0 in the 2016 SuperCopa MX. The victory not only gives El Rebaño the SuperCopa title but also qualifies them for a spot in the 2017 Copa Libertadores play-in round.

Chivas started the game off better and in the early going they found chances through Carlos Peña, who tried his luck from outside the box, and Ángel Zaldívar, who sent his opportunity into the stands.

After that, Veracruz settled into the game a bit more and started to firm up defensively. However, the Tiburones Rojos couldn’t preserve the shutout and in the 44th minute Orbelín Pineda and Zaldívar combined again. After receiving the ball, Zaldívar went down in the box, but the play remained alive and Pineda sent his shot past Pedro Gallese to give Chivas the 1-0 lead.

Veracruz threw numbers forward in the second half as they looked for an equalizer. Just moments after the game restarted, Julio César Furch came close only to see his shot deflected wide of Rodolfo Cota’s goal.

Bit by bit Chivas retook control of the ball and the game, and they found several chances to run up the score, including a shot by Peña that hit the woodwork.

In the 90th minute, Édgar Andrade saw Veracruz’s last chance for an equalizer stopped by Cota; then, in extra time, substitute Omar Bravo guaranteed Guadalajara’s victory when he finished off a low cross by Javier López in the 93rd minute.

With the 2-0 victory, Chivas de Guadalajara wins the SuperCopa MX and a spot in the Copa Libertadores.



Chivas: Rodolfo Cota, Jair Pereira, Edwin Hernández, Jesús Sánchez, Carlos Salcedo, Isaác Brizuela (Javier López 63′), Orbelín Pineda (José Juan Vázquez 83′), Carlos Salcido, Carlos Peña (Omar Bravo 87′), Ángel Zaldívar, Carlos Cisneros.

Veracruz: Pedro Gallese, Leobardo López, Matías Cahais, Luis Sánchez, Hugo Cid (Édgar Andrade 76′), Jesús Paganoni, Gabriel Peñalba, Fernando Meneses (Juan Pérez 60′), Julio César Furch, Adrián Luna, Daniel Villalva (Sebastián Saucedo 82′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s