Veracruz vs Santos Laguna – Jornada 2 Recap and Highlights

veracruz santosA brace by Gabriel Peñalba gave Veracruz their first win of the season with a 2-0 victory over Santos Laguna. The Laguneros, meanwhile, are still waiting for their first win – and their first goal – of the Apertura 2016 season.

The Tiburones Rojos started the game off well and it didn’t take long before they started to threaten Agustín Marchesín’s goal. In the 17th minute, they found the breakthrough when Diego de Buen failed to clear a cross by Alan Zamora. The ball fell for Peñalba, whose shot from the top of the box made it 1-0 for the home team.

The goal gave Veracruz a boost of confidence and they found several more chances before the break, with Juan Pérez, Julio César Furch, and Daniel Villalva all looking dangerous.

As for Santos Laguna, their only real chance in the first half came from a set piece. Jonathan Rodríguez’s free kick was goal-bound, but Pedro Gallese did well to make the save and send the ball out for a corner kick.

In the second half, the visitors began to push forward in search of an equalizer while Veracruz settled in to defend the lead and wait for counterattacking chances.

However, Gallese came up big a few times to keep Santos off the board and Veracruz kept the pressure on with set pieces. In the 69th minute, the Tiburones came close through Peñalba, who headed on a corner kick only to see Marchesín make a great save.

In the 88th minute, Veracruz finally added to their lead. Marchesín was called for a foul on Juan Pérez, and referee César Arturo Ramos pointed to the penalty spot. Peñalba took the spot kick and converted it to make it 2-0 and put the game to bed.

With the 2-0 win, Veracruz reaches three points while Santos remains on one.



Veracruz: Pedro Gallese, Jesús Paganoni, Matías Cahais, Leobardo López, Luis Sánchez, Hugo Cid (Édgar Andrade 85), Alan Zamora (Lucas Rodríguez 67′), Gabriel Peñalba, Daniel Villalva, Juan Pérez (Adrián Luna 90′), Julio César Furch.

Santos: Agustín Marchesín, José Javier Abella (Kristian Álvarez 33′), Carlos Izquierdoz, Néstor Araujo, Jorge Villafaña, Jesús Molina, Diego de Buen (Martín Bravo 70′), Emiliano Armenteros, Bryan Rabello, Walter Sandoval (Ulises Dávila 70′), Jonathan Rodríguez. 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s