Puebla vs Tijuana – Jornada 2 Recap and Highlights

puebla tijuanaPuebla defeated Tijuana 3-2 in the final match of Jornada 2. The win keeps the Poblanos unbeaten this season, while the loss was the Xolos’ first of the campaign.

The hosts took the lead just five minutes into the game. Christian Bermúdez played in Matías Alustiza, whose diagonal shot hit the post. However, the unfortunate Greg Garza inadvertently knocked the rebound into his own net to give Puebla the 1-0 lead.

The night continued to go from bad to worse for Garza, who picked up a yellow card and then had to be subbed out after leaving the field on a stretcher in the 41st minute. Puebla was also struck by injury in the first half as they were forced to sub out David Toledo in the 28th.

Puebla’s second goal came in the 34th minute. Once again, “Hobbit” Bermúdez and “Chavo” Alustiza combined well, with Bermúdez finishing off the play he had started to make it 2-0.

However, the Xolos cut the deficit just two minutes later. A set piece got Tijuana back into the game, with Guido Rodríguez finishing off the service from Ignacio Malcorra to make it 2-1.

But Puebla restored their two-goal lead before halftime. Damián Escudero, who had come on in place of the injured Toledo, nutmegged a defender and then received a backheeled pass from Alustiza before finishing the play to make it 3-1.

In the second half, Tijuana scored virtually as soon as the game restarted, with Gabriel Hauche once again bringing the Xolos back to within one goal.

They had a few chances to go on to find the equalizer, most notably a chance by Dayro Moreno in the 80th minute that Cristian Campestrini did well to save, but in the end they couldn’t find a third goal.

With the 3-2 win, Puebla reaches four points while Tijuana remains on three.



Puebla: Cristian Campestrini, Óscar Rojas, Patricio Araujo, Robert Herrera, Carlos Gutiérrez, David Toledo (Damián Escudero 28′), Christian Bermúdez (Carlos Orrantía 73′), Pablo Míguez, Francisco Torres, Alexis Canelo, Matías Alustiza (Eduardo Pérez 78′).

Tijuana: Federico Vilar, Juan Carlos Núñez, Yasser Corona, Víctor Aguilera, Greg Garza (Damián Pérez 41′), Gabriel Hauche, Guido Rodríguez, Juan Carlos Medina (Avilés Hurtado 46′), Víctor Ignacio Malcorra (Paul Arriola 66′), Dayro Moreno, Milton Caraglio.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s