Veracruz vs América – Jornada 4 Recap and Highlights

veracruz americaA day later than originally scheduled, due to Tropical Storm Earl causing a postponement, 10-man América came from behind to defeat 9-man Veracruz 2-4 in one of the wildest games of the season to date.

The Tiburones Rojos took the lead in just the 11th minute, when Gabriel Peñalba nodded the ball on for Adrián Luna, who got around Moisés Muñoz and sent his right-footed shot into the net to make it 1-0.

The night quickly got worse for the visitors, who saw Erik Pimentel sent off with a straight red card in the 18th minute following a foul on Luna. Then, in the 36th minute, Julio César Furch added to Veracruz’s lead with a goal of his own.

But the game started to go off the rails for the hosts just two minutes later, when Luna was given his marching orders after receiving his second yellow card of the night. Then, just before halftime, América reduced the deficit through Silvio Romero, who made it 2-1.

The Águilas picked up where they left off after the halftime break, with Romero scoring his second of the night in the 49th minute to tie the game 2-2.

Then, in the 55th minute, Fernando Meneses – who had entered the game just a minute earlier – was given a straight red for a foul on José Daniel Guerrero, leaving Veracruz with just nine men.

América took full advantage of their extra man and of all the extra space that resulted from the three red cards, and in the 73rd minute they completed the comeback with Renato Ibarra’s goal making it 2-3.

Carlos Darwin Quintero then put the icing on the cake with his goal in the 89th minute, as he rounded the keeper and scored to make it 2-4.

With the 2-4 win, América reaches nine points while Veracruz remains on three.



Veracruz: Pedro Gallese, Jesús Paganoni, Matías Cahais, Leobardo López, Luis Sánchez, Marco Vidal (Sebastián Saucedo 77′), Alan Zamora (Fernando Meneses 54′), Adrián Luna, Gabriel Peñalba, Juan Pérez (Édgar Andrade 71′), Julio César Furch.

América: Moisés Muñoz, Paul Aguilar, Bruno Valdez, Pablo Aguilar, Erik Pimentel, Osmar Mares, Osvaldo Martínez, José Daniel Guerrero (Renato Ibarra 69′), Rubens Sambueza (Javier Güemez 89′), Carlos Darwin Quintero, Silvrio Romero (William da Silva 84′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s