Querétaro vs Monterrey – Jornada 9 Recap and Highlights

queretaro monterreyQuéretaro snapped their three-game losing streak and five-game winless streak with a 1-0 victory over 10-man Monterrey. The loss keeps the Rayados winless in four and caps off a disappointing week for them after they were eliminated from the CONCACAF Champions League in midweek.

The visitors started the game off better, and Dorlan Pabón had the first dangerous chance of the game when he cut inside and sent his shot towards the right corner; but Tiago Volpi was there to make the save.

Pabón had another good chance in the 22nd minute, but that time the defense was there to clear the ball off the line.

Querétaro reacted soon after that and Luis Noriega nearly opened the scoring with an ambitious bicycle kick that forced a good save out of Jonathan Orozco in the 27th minute.

The Gallos Blancos started the second half off well and they opened the scoring in the 53rd minute. A good combination between Jaime Gómez and Édgar Benítez ended with “el Pájaro” making it 1-0.

Querétaro had a good chance to add to their lead in the 64th minute, after Orozco gave up a rebound that fell to Miguel Ángel Martínez, but he hit the woodwork with his attempt.

The Rayados’ hopes of a comeback suffered a blow just after that, when Dorlan Pabón was controversially sent off in the 68th minute. The striker had picked up a yellow card at the end of the first half, and in the 68th referee Eduardo Galván Basulto judged the Colombian to have simulated a foul and showed him his second yellow card and the ensuing red.

Down a goal and down a man, Monterrey did not have many chances to find an equalizer, and in the end Querétaro’s lone goal held up.

With the 1-0 win, Querétaro reaches 12 points while Monterrey remains on 10.



Querétaro: Tiago Volpi, Dionicio Escalante, Juan Forlín, Miguel Ángel Martínez, Nery Domínguez, Ángel Sepúlveda, Luis Noriega, Jaime Gómez, Neri Cardozo (Jonathan Bornstein 74′), Édgar Benítez (Yerson Candelo 79′), Emanuel Villa (Camilo Sanvezzo 79′).

Monterrey: Jonathan Orozco, Iván Piris, César Montes, Hiram Mier, Walter Ayoví, Carlos Sánchez (Aldo de Nigris 84′), Celso Ortiz, Walter Gargano (Arturo González 66′), Dorlan Pabón, Alberth Elis (Yimmi Chara 66′), Rogelio Funes Mori. 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s