Toluca vs Tijuana – Jornada 15 Recap and Highlights

toluca tijuanaTijuana remained top of the table with a 0-1 win against Toluca on Sunday afternoon. The loss ends the Diablos Rojos’ season-long unbeaten streak in the Estadio Alberto Chivo Córdoba, while the Xolos now have back-to-back wins.

The visitors started the game off better and they nearly opened the scoring in the 9th minute; however, Alfredo Talavera was there to make the save on Dayro Moreno’s volley.

Toluca grew into the game after that and they began to trouble Federico Vilar with shots from mid-range. Jesús Méndez had one of the better opportunities for the hosts, but the goalkeeper made an impressive save to keep him off the board.

Fernando Uribe and Enrique Triverio also created good chances, and Vilar was called on several times to prevent Tijuana from falling behind.

In the second half, Toluca held possession and looked for the breakthrough, but Tijuana stood firm defensively. Then, midway through the half, the Xolos began to push their lines forward and apply pressure to the Diablos.

The approach bore fruit as Milton Caraglio won the ball away from Antonio Ríos and charged towards goal. He sent a perfectly-weighted pass across for Gabriel Hauche, who ran on to it and beat Talavera to make it 0-1.

Toluca threw numbers forward in search of an equalizer and they were inches away from one in the 83rd minute. Following a corner kick, Osvaldo González hit the post; the rebound fell to Uribe, but Vilar was able to get his foot on it and knock it away.

The Diablos Rojos went down to 10 men in stoppage time as Óscar Rojas earned his second yellow card of the night, although it was too late for the numerical disadvantage to have an effect on the game.

With the 0-1 win, Tijuana reaches 22 points while Toluca remains on 21.



Toluca: Alfredo Talavera, Gerardo Flores, Paulo da Silva, Osvaldo González, Óscar Rojas, Jesús Méndez (Erbin Trejo 58′), Antonio Ríos, Pablo Barrientos, Carlos Esquivel (Rodrigo Gómez 73′), Fernando Uribe, Enrique Triverio (Ernesto Vega 63′).

Tijuana: Federico Vilar, Michael Orozco, Juan Carlos Valenzuela, Víctor Aguilera, Damián Pérez, Avilés Hurtado (Víctor Malcorra 64′), Guido Rodríguez, Kevin Gutiérrez, Gabriel Hauche (Paul Arriola 80′), Milton Caraglio, Dayro Moreno (Juan Carlos Núñez 50′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s