Copa MX Final: Querétaro vs Chivas de Guadalajara

Embed from Getty Images

Querétaro won their first-ever Copa MX title with a penalty shootout win against Chivas de Guadalajara. After a 0-0 draw in regulation, Tiago Volpi became the hero of the shootout as the goalkeeper saved two penalties and scored one as the Gallos Blancos triumphed 3-2 from the spot.

The game started off as a cagey affair, with neither team wanting to give any opportunities to the other. The first good chance of the game came in the 20th minute, when Carlos Peña tried a shot from outside the box that Volpi got just enough on to send out for a corner kick.

Néstor Calderón then tried his luck from a similar spot, but once again the Brazilian netminder was there to keep the visitors off the board.

Querétaro’s own chances started coming towards the end of the half. First, Neri Cardozo played in Camilo Sanvezzo, but a heavy touch let the opportunity go begging; then, in the 44th minute, Sanvezzo sent a free kick towards the far post, but Toño Rodríguez was there to punch it away.

In the second half, Chivas continued to find dangerous chances, but they were continually denied by the goalkeeper. But when Andrés Rentería was red-carded in the 70th minute for headbutting Miguel Ángel Ponce, it looked like only a matter of time before Chivas broke through.

However, after going down to 10 men, Querétaro closed ranks defensively and the game began to even out. Nevertheless, Chivas had a golden opportunity to win it late when Alan Pulido went one-on-one with the keeper, only for Volpi to make another priceless save.

With the game still deadlocked after 90 minutes, it went to a penalty shootout to determine the champion.

Chivas took the first PK, and Jair Pereira’s shot was stopped by Tiago Volpi. Édgar Benítez then converted his to give Querétaro the early 1-0 lead.

Osvaldo Alanís then scored, as did Volpi, to make it 2-1, before Carlos Cisneros saw his PK saved and Yerson Candelo put his off the woodwork.

Orbelín Pineda and Luis Noriega then exchanged makes to make it 3-2 before Alan Pulido hit the post to give the victory to the Gallos Blancos.

With the 0-0 draw (3-2 penalty win), Querétaro is the Apertura 2016 Copa MX champion.




What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s