León vs Chivas de Guadalajara – Jornada 16 Recap and Highlights

leon chivasLeón and Chivas de Guadalajara drew 1-1 in a controversy-filled game that finished 10 vs 9. The draw keeps León unbeaten in nine, but also leaves them in a delicate situation in terms of locking up a playoff spot. As for Chivas, the draw is enough to guarantee their own spot in the Liguilla.

León’s hopes for a win took an early blow when Leonel López was sent off in just the 13th minute after a foul on Michael Pérez. Their numerical disadvantage left spaces for Chivas to exploit, and in the 24th minute the visitors did exactly that.

Guadalajara mounted a quick counterattack that ended with Isaác Brizuela sending a cross in from the right for Javier López, who collected the ball and beat William Yarbrough to make it 0-1.

Then, in the 61st minute, Maxi Moralez was called for a foul on Edwin Hernández inside the box and Chivas had the chance to make it 0-2 from the spot. However, Yarbrough dove to his left and made the save on López to keep León within a goal.

Four minutes later, Chivas went down to 10 men as well as Hernández earned his second yellow card of the night.

With numerical parity restored, León began to look increasingly dangerous. In the 82nd minute, referee Marco Antonio Ortiz awarded a controversial penalty to La Fiera after Diego Novaretti went down in the box, and Mauro Boselli converted the PK to make it 1-1.

Then, in stoppage time, Chivas was reduced to nine men after Carlos Salcido was also given his marching orders. It was far too late in the game for León to take advantage, however, and the match finished level.

With the 1-1 draw, León reaches 23 points while Chivas reaches 27.



León: William Yarbrough, Fernando Navarro, Diego Novaretti, Guillermo Burdisso, Efraín Velarde (Juan Ezequiel Cuevas 79′), Leonel López, Alexander Mejía, Eliás Hernández, Luis Montes (Hernán Darío Burbano 62′), Germán Cano (Maximiliano Moralez 58′), Mauro Boselli.

Chivas: Rodolfo Cota, Jair Pereira, Carlos Salcido, Hedgardo Marín, Edwin Hernández, Michael Pérez (Carlos Peña 66′), Orbelín Pineda, Isaác Brizuela, Javier López (Miguel Ángel Pone 67′), Carlos Cisneros, Marco Bueno (Alan Pulido 78′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.