Clausura 2017 Copa MX Groups Announced

cl2017-copa-groupsThe draw has been held for the Clausura 2017 Copa MX, which has resulted in nine three-team groups being assembled. The Copa MX structure, which was overhauled for the Apertura 2016 edition, underwent some additional changes due to Liga MX dropping out of the 2017 Copa Libertadores.

The teams that had qualified for the Libertadores were shifted over to the Copa MX, resulting in an additional group and some changes to who qualifies for the knockout rounds. Now, the nine group winners and the seven best second-place finishers will advance to the round of sixteen.

The Clausura 2017 Copa MX groups are as follows:

Group 1: Tijuana, Cimarrones, Correcaminos
Group 2: Querétaro, Alebrijes de Oaxaca, Cruz Azul
Group 3: América, Coras Tepic, Santos Laguna
Group 4: Mineros de Zacatecas, Puebla, Atlas
Group 5: Potros UAEM, Necaxa, Jaguares de Chiapas
Group 6: Chivas de Guadalajara, Atlante, Venados
Group 7: Monterrey, Dorados de Sinaloa, FC Juárez
Group 8: Celaya, Toluca, Veracruz
Group 9: Zacatepec, León, Monarcas Morelia

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.