Club World Cup: América vs Atlético Nacional – Recap and Highlights

club world cup logo 2015/6América finished fourth in the 2016 FIFA Club World Cup after falling to Atlético Nacional in the third-place game. After a 2-2 draw, Atlético won the penalty shootout 4-3 to claim third place in their first Club World Cup.

The game started off well for Atlético, who took the lead in just the 6th minute via an own-goal by Miguel Ángel Samudio.

Orlando Berrio was about to shoot and Samudio attempted to stab the ball away from him, but only managed to nutmeg Moisés Muñoz and give Atlético the 1-0 lead.

América would then feel aggrieved after Atlético keeper Franco Armani brought down Rubens Sambueza in the box with no penalty given. Soon after, Silvio Romero had a chance to equalize but couldn’t find the target.

Instead, Atlético went up 2-0 in the 26th minute. Berrio cut the ball back for Alejandro Guerra, who knocked it home.

Atlético could have made it three as Jhon Mosquera hit the crossbar.

But América rallied just as it looked like Atlético was going to run away with the game. Samudio set up Michael Arroyo, who made no mistake with his finish, reducing the deficit to 2-1 in the 38th minute.

In the second half, Romero had several chances to find the equalizer before the Águilas earned a penalty kick after Farid Díaz climbed on the back of Samudio while the two contested a header. Oribe Peralta converted the PK to make it 2-2 in the 66th minute.

Nothing could separate the sides in the rest of regulation, nor extra time, and the match went to penalty kicks.

Osvaldo Martínez hit the crossbar to start the shootout, while Jhon Mosquera converted to give Atlético the 0-1 advantage. Miguel Samudio then sent his attempt high, while Juan Pablo Nieto also failed to find the target. Carlos Darwin Quintero, Daniel Bocanegra, Oribe Peralta, Macnelly Torres, Michael Arroyo, and Miguel Borja all exchanged makes as Atlético won it 4-3 after five rounds.



América: Moisés Muñoz, Pablo Aguilar, Erik Pimentel, Bruno Valdez, Miguel Ángel Samudio, Ventura Álvarado (Carlos Darwin Quintero 45′), William da Silva, Rubens Sambueza (Osvaldo Martínez 70′), José Daniel Guerrero, Silvio Romero (Oribe Peralta 59′), Michael Arroyo. 

Atlético: Franco Armani, Alexis Henríquez, Felipe Aguilar, Farid Díaz, Daniel Bocanegra, Macnelly Torres, Diego Arias, Mateus Uribe (Juan Nieto 70′), Alejandro Guerra (Miguel Borja 78′), Jhon Edison Mosquera, Orlando Berrío (Arley Rodríguez 89′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s