Tigres UANL Win Fifth League Title

Embed from Getty Images

Tigres UANL defeated América on penalties after a 2-2 aggregate draw to win the Apertura 2016 league title.

The universitarios entered the Liguilla as the third seed, and they defeated sixth-seeded Pumas UNAM and seventh-seeded Necaxa in the quarter- and semi- finals, respectively, to set up a meeting with fifth-seeded América in the Gran Final.

A 1-1 first leg draw kept everything up in the air for the Christmas Day second leg, which finished 0-0 in regulation and 1-1 in extra time to send the game to penalties. Goalkeeper Nahuel Guzmán was the hero there as he made three straight saves in the shootout to give Tigres the title.

The Apertura 2016 league title is Tigres’ fifth. They previously won the league in the 1977-78, 1981-82, Apertura 2011, and Apertura 2015 seasons. This is coach Ricardo Ferretti’s sixth title with Tigres and his third league title with the club. It is his fifth Liga MX title overall.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.