Puebla vs Monterrey – Jornada 1 Recap and Highlights

puebla-monterrey2Puebla took the lead but couldn’t hold it as a late penalty gave Monterrey the come-from-behind 2-3 victory. The loss was a blow to Puebla, who saw relegation rivals Morelia and Veracruz both pick up wins earlier in the weekend.

The visiting Rayados had the first good chance of the game in the 18th minute, when Yimmi Chara nearly put the finishing touch on a counterattack, only for goalkeeper Cristian Campestrini to intervene.

But minutes later, Puebla made their first good chance count as they opened the scoring. Following a corner kick, Damián Schmidt nodded the ball on for Alexis Canelo, who finished it off with a header of his own to make it 1-0 in the 21st minute.

The lead lasted just two minutes, however, before Monterrey tied it up in similar fashion. Jesús Molina headed home a corner kick to level the game at 1-1.

Puebla continued to push forward despite that setback, and in the 36th minute they retook the lead. Carlos Gutiérrez sent in a good cross and Canelo was there to complete his brace and make it 2-1 for the Camoteros.

But Monterrey turned things around in the second half. They came close to an equalizer in the 52nd minute through Iván Piris, and then they found it in the 55th. Another set piece proved deadly as Puebla failed to clear a free kick, with Jesús Molina ultimately sending it into the back of the net.

The Rayados completed the comeback from the penalty spot in the 86th minute after Héctor Schmidt was sanctioned for a foul on Rogelio Funes Mori. Substitute Edwin Cardona converted the spot kick to give Monterrey the 2-3 lead.

With the 2-3 win, Monterrey reaches three points while Puebla remains on zero.



Puebla: Cristian Campestrini, Óscar Rojas (Eduardo Pérez 86′), Robert Herrera, Héctor Schmidt, Carlos Gutiérrez, Carlos Orrantía, David Toledo, Francisco Acuña (Gabriel Esparza 63′), Pablo Míguez, Álvardo Navarro, Alexis Canelo.

Monterrey: Alexander Domínguez, Iván Piris, César Montes, José María Basanta, Édgar Castillo (Luis Fernando Fuentes 58′), Carlos Sánchez, Jesús Molina, Celso Ortiz, Dorlan Pabón (Walter Ayoví 87′), Rogelio Funes Mori, Yimmi Chará (Edwin Cardona 70′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.