Tijuana vs Puebla – Jornada 2 Recap and Highlights

tijuana-puebla2Tijuana earned their first win of the season in style with a 6-2 thumping of Puebla. The Poblanos have now lost two games in a row and are losing ground in the relegation standings as well.

The Xolos took just three minutes to open the scoring, with Avilés Hurtado giving the home team the early lead as he finished off a cross from Víctor Malcorra. Hurtado then found the back of the net again in the 27th minute, but that time the would-be goal was disallowed for offside.

In the 39th minute, Puebla got back into the game after referee Jorge Pérez Durán awarded them a penalty kick afer Paul Arriola fouled Gabriel Esparza in the box. Alexis Canelo took the spot kick and he converted it to tie the game 1-1.

But right before halftime, Tijuana retook the lead, with Hurtado scoring his second of the night to make it 2-1.

In the second half, Puebla equalized once more, with Patricio Araujo’s left-footed shot making it 2-2 in the 59th minute.

However, the Xolos responded almost instantly, with Paul Arriola scoring a golazo in the 60th minute to give Tijuana the 3-2 lead. After that, the game was all Tijuana and the hosts soon ran up the score.

In the 66th minute, Milton Caraglio scored with a scissor kick to make it 4-2 after an error by Robert Herrera. Herrera’s night soon got worse as he was given a straight red card for a foul on Joe Corona in the 80th minute.

Then, from the ensuing free kick, Víctor Malcorra chipped Cristian Campestrini to make it 5-2, before Corona added a sixth goal two minutes later after a poor clearance attempt landed at his feet within the six-yard box.

With the 6-2 win, Tijuana reaches three points while Puebla remains on zero.



Tijuana: Manuel Lajud, Michael Orozco, Juan Carlos Valenzuela, Víctor Aguilera, Damián Pérez, Juan Carlos Medina (Joe Corona 62′), Guido Rodríguez, Avilés Hurtado (Yasser Conroa 86′), Víctor Malcorra, Paul Arriola, Milton Caraglio (Juan Lucero 80′).

Puebla: Cristian Campestrini, Carlos Orrantía, Robert Herrera, Patricio Araujo, Héctor Schmidt, Óscar Rojas, Gabriel Esparza, David Toledo, Francisco Torres (Francisco Acuña 70′), Álvaro Navarro (Jerónimo Amione 68′), Alexis Canelo (Eduardo Pérez 77′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.