Cruz Azul vs Monterrey – Jornada 3 Recap and Highlights

cruz azul monterreyMonterrey took a two-goal lead but couldn’t hold it as Cruz Azul scored a stoppage-time equalizer to make it 2-2. The draw keeps La Máquina unbeaten at home this season while keeping the Rayados unbeaten overall.

Monterrey took the lead from the penalty spot after Jesús Corona was called for a foul on Rogelio Funes Mori. Dorlan Pabón took the spot kick, and although Corona got a hand to it he was unable to keep it out. The Rayados took the 0-1 lead in the 20th minute.

Cruz Azul pushed for an equalizer but Monterrey maintained control of the game. Then, in the 39th minute, the visitors added to their lead after a good combination between Pabón, Celso Ortiz, and Carlos Sánchez, who finished the play off to make it 0-2.

In the second half, La Máquina made some adjustments and soon began to look more dangerous. In the 52nd minute, Jorge Benítez was fouled by Iván Piris in the box and referee Fernando Hernández once again pointed to the penalty spot.

Ángel Mena took and converted the spot kick to reduce the deficit to 1-2.

The match then tilted in Cruz Azul’s favor in the 57th minute after Walter Ayoví was given a straight red card for a foul on Benítez, leaving Monterrey to see out the rest of the game with just 10 men.

In the 78th minute, La Máquina thought they had found the equalizer, but the would-be goal was correctly disallowed for offside. Four minutes late, they had the ball in the net again, but Martín Cauteruccio’s goal was also disallowed – that time unjustly.

As time wound down, it looked like Cruz Azul was heading for a second straight defeat, but deep in stoppage time the unfortunate Nicolás Sánchez directed the ball into his own net to make it 2-2.

With the 2-2 draw, Cruz Azul reaches four points while Monterrey reaches five.



Cruz Azul: José de Jesús Corona, Omar Mendoza (Martín Cauteruccio 59′), Julio César Domínguez, Julián Velázquez, Adrián Aldrete, Ariel Rojas (Martín Rodríguez 46′), Rafael Baca, Christian Giménez, Ángel Mena, Joao Rojas (Rosario Cota 79′), Jorge Benítez.

Monterrey: Hugo González, César Montes, Iván Piris, José María Basanta, Walter Ayoví, Luis Fernando Fuentes, Carlos Sánchez (Yimmi Chara 43′), Celso Ortiz, Jesús Molina, Rogelio Funes Mori (Edwin Cardna 88′), Dorlan Pabón (Nicolás Sánchez 63′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.