Tigres UANL vs América – Jornada 3 Recap and Highlights

tigres americaIn this rematch of the Apertura 2016 final, Tigres UANL once again emerged victorious. The hosts earned a 4-2 win over América, a result that keeps the universitarios unbeaten at home this season while the Águilas remain winless overall.

Both teams came into this game looking for their first wins of the Clausura, and Tigres took the lead virtually as soon as the match began. André-Pierre Gignac played in Ismael Sosa, whose low shot gave the hosts the 1-0 lead.

América reacted well to falling behind so early, though, and in the 19th minute they found the equalizer. Oribe Peralta finished off a good individual play by beating Enrique Palos – filling in for the injured Nahuel Guzmán – to make it 1-1.

But the balance of the match favored Tigres, who came within inches of retaking the lead several times and came as close as Sosa hitting the post.

Then, in the 35th minute, a well-taken free kick from Lucas Zelerayán make it 2-1 for Tigres as he placed the ball into the upper corner to put the hosts back in front.

Once again, América had a response. In the 48th minute, Bruno Valdéz leveled the game once more when he headed home a corner kick to make it 2-2.

However, parity lasted just six minutes before Tigres retook the lead – this time for good. In the 54th minute, Zelarayán scored his second of the night to make it 3-2, and that time América was unable to find an equalizer.

Instead, Sosa put the game out of reach with his second of the night in the 82nd minute, giving Tigres the definitive 4-2 lead.

With the 4-2 win, Tigres reach four points while América remains on zero.



Tigres: Enrique Palos, Jesús Dueñas, Juninho, Hugo Ayala, Jorge Torres Nilo, Guido Pizarro (Iván Estrada 86′), Lucas Zelarayán, Jürgen Damm, Javier Aquino (Damián Álvarez 86′), André-Pierre Gignac, Ismael Sosa (Andy Delort 86′).

América: Agustín Marchesín, Osmar Mares (José Daniel Guerrero 46′), Pablo Aguilar, Paolo Goltz, Bruno Valdéz, Miguel Ángel Samudio, Edson Álvarez, William da Silva, Renato Ibarra (Michael Arroyo 72′), Oribe Peralta (Silvio Romero 64′), Carlos Darwin Quintero. 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.