CONCACAF Announces New Champions League Format

logo CONCACAFThe CONCACAF Champions League will be expanding to 31 teams and splitting into two separate but related tournaments beginning with the 2017-18 edition.

In the first of the two tournaments, 16 teams from Central America and the Caribbean will compete in a new tournament, which will run from August to October. The champion of that tournament will qualify for the new Champions League, which will run from February to May.

The Champions League stage will feature five Central American teams (one each from Costa Rica, Panama, Honduras, El Salvador, and Guatemala), four teams from Liga MX, four from Major League Soccer, one from Canada, and one from the Caribbean, in addition to the aforementioned champion of the August to October tournament.

concacaf-champions-league-formatBoth tournaments will consist entirely of home-and-away direct elimination matches, doing away with the group stage format that had been used since 2008.

The condensed format means that each tournament will occur in its entirety during a single league season. The previous format ran from August to May with a long break between the group stage and the knockout rounds.

Clubs that have already qualified for the 2017-18 Champions League are guaranteed participation in one of the two new tournaments.

Further information will be released in upcoming weeks.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.