León vs Tijuana – Jornada 5 Recap and Highlights

leon tijuanaTijuana came from behind to earn a 2-4 win over León, which extends the Xolos’ winning streak to four games and keeps them in first place in the table. The result extends León’s home losing streak to three games and keeps them winless in three overall.

The night started well for La Fiera, who took the lead in just the 5th minute. Elías Hernández received a through ball and drove into the box, where he chipped the onrushing Manuel Gibrán Lajud to make it 1-0.

After falling behind, the Xolos then lost Michael Orozco to injury in the 19th minute. But despite the forced substitution, Tijuana was starting to dominate the game.

In the 30th minute, Avilés Hurtado was brought down in the box by Nacho González, and referee Óscar Macías Romo pointed to the penalty spot. Hurtado himself stepped up to take the PK and he beat William Yarbrough to make it 1-1.

Then, in the 39th minute, Hurtado was brought down again, this time by Yarbrough, and Tijuana was awarded another penalty. Milton Caraglio took that one, and he converted it to give the Xolos the 1-2 lead.

Javier Torrente went to his bench at halftime as he looked to get León back into the game, but Tijuana continued to dominate. In the 64th minute, Guido Rodríguez made it 1-3 with his shot from distance.

Then, in the 77th, Hurtado stole a misplaced pass and took off downfield. With León’s defense closing in, he slid the ball over to Paul Arriola, who sent a rocket into the far lower corner to make it 1-4.

Carlos “Gullit” Peña made the scoreline slightly more respectable in the 86th minute when he appeared unmarked to finish off a low cross, but León was unable to reduce the deficit any further than that.

With the 2-4 win, Tijuana reaches 12 points while León remains on four.



León: William Yarbrough, Fernando Navarro, Guillermo Burdisso, Juan González, Osvaldo Rodríguez, Andrés Andrade (Carlos Peña 54′), Alexander Mejía, Luis Montes (Germán Cano 66′), Juan Cornejo (Maximiliano Moralez 46′), Elías Hernández, Mauro Boselli. 

Tijuana: Manuel Gibrán Lajud, Michael Orozco (Juan Carlos Núñez 19′), Juan Carlos Valenzuela, Víctor Aguilera, Damián Pérez, Paul Arriola, Joe Corona (Juan Carlos Medina 81′), Guido Rodríguez, Víctor Malcorra, Avilés Hurtado, Milton Caraglio (Juan Lucero 66′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.