Chivas de Guadalajara vs América – Jornada 7 Recap and Highlights

chivas americaChivas de Guadalajara earned bragging rights in the Clausura 2017 edition of the SuperClásico with a 1-0 victory over América. The win is a second consecutive one for Chivas and keeps them unbeaten in four, while the Águilas are now winless in three in league play.

The visitors took the ball early on and Michael Arroyo tried to jump start their attack with some good crosses into the box, but no one could get on the end of them. It took Chivas more time to settle into the game, but bit by bit they began to take control – and once they had it, they never relinquished it.

In the 28th minute, Alan Pulido was brought down in the box and referee Luis Santander pointed to the penalty spot. Ángel Zaldivar took the PK for Chivas, and he sent it past Agustín Marchesín to make it 1-0 for el Rebaño.

In the second half, it all went to pieces for América. In the 51st minute, Miguel Ángel Samudio was red carded for a foul on Jesús Sánchez, leaving the visitors with just 10 men and complicating their search for a tying goal.

Ricardo La Volpe then inexplicably entered the field of play to trip Sánchez in the 74th minute, leading to his own ejection and likely a lengthy suspension from the Disciplinary Committee.

Despite having the numerical advantage – and a coach still on the sidelines – Chivas was unable to add to their lead, which kept the Águilas at least theoretically in the game right up until the end. But América was unable to break through Guadalajara’s defense as Chivas celebrated their second clásico victory in as many weeks.

With the 1-0 win, Chivas reaches 14 points while América still has seven.



Chivas: Rodolfo Cota, Oswaldo Alanís, Jair Pereira, Edwin Hernández, Jesús Sánchez, Orbelín Pineda (Michael Pérez 72′), José Juan Vázquez, Javier López (Isaác Brizuela 62′), Rodolfo Pizarro, Alan Pulido (Carlos Fierro 75′), Ángel Zaldívar.

América: Agustín Marchesín, Paolo Goltz, Gil Burón (Carlos Darwin Quintero 56′), Miguel Ángel Samudio, Pablo Aguilar, José Daniel Guerrero, Javier Güemez (Ricardo Marín 63′), Renato Ibarra, William da Silva, Michael Arroyo (Osmar Mares 53′), Oribe Peralta. 

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.