Pumas UNAM vs Tijuana – Jornada 7 Recap and Highlights

pumas tijuana1Pumas UNAM overturned a three-goal deficit to grab a 3-3 draw against Tijuana on Sunday afternoon. The result keeps the universitarios unbeaten at home this season while the Xolos are now winless in two.

Although the hosts had the first opportunity of the game – which goalkeeper Gibrán Lajud responded well to – it was the visitors who took the lead. In the 23rd minute, Alejandro Palacios came way out of his box and failed to get the ball, allowing Avilés Hurtado to send his shot from distance into the empty net to give the Xolos the 0-1 lead.

The goal inspired Tijuana and they were the more dangerous side for the rest of the half, with Víctor Malcorra and Paul Arriola causing problems for Pumas’ defense. But the Xolos weren’t able to add to their lead until the 61st minute, when Malcorra’s diagonal shot made it 0-2.

Just minutes later, Guido Rodríguez made it 0-3 with his powerful shot, and Tijuana appeared to be in complete control of the game.

But with boos and whistles ringing out in the stands of the Estadio Olímpico Universitario, Pumas mounted an impressive comeback. In the 71st minute, Nicolás Castillo scored with a scissor kick to reduce the deficit to 1-3.

Five minutes after that, Arriola was called for a foul on Bryan Rabello in the box, and Pumas had a penalty kick. Pablo Barrera converted the PK t make it 2-3 in the 78th minute.

With the tie now within reach, Pumas continued to press forward against a suddenly nervous Tijuana side. In the 81st minute, Castillo met a cross at the near post, with his touch deflecting off Juan Carlos Valenzuela and into the net.

The final minutes were end-to-end as both teams looked for a winning goal. In the end, they had to settle for a share of the spoils, but the draw will feel like a win to Pumas.

With the 3-3 draw, Pumas reach 11 points while Tijuana reaches 13.



Pumas: Alejandro Palacios, Josécarlos van Rankin, Gerardo Alcoba, Darío Verón, Alan Mendoza, Pablo Barrera, Kevin Escamilla (Matías Britos 52′), Abraham González, PJavier Cortés, Bryan Rabello, Nicolás Castillo.

Tijuana: Manuel Gibrán Lajud, Juan Carlos Núñez, Juan Carlos Valenzuela, Damián Pérez, Víctor Aguilera, Paul Arriola, Guido Rodríguez, Joe Corona (Jorge Ortiz 72′) Víctor Malcorra (Juan Lucero 87′), Avilés Hurtado, Milton Caraglio (Henry Martín 88′). 

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.