Tijuana vs Monterrey – Jornada 8 Recap and Highlights

tijuana monterrey1Tijuana moved back into first place in the table – pending the rest of this weekend’s results – with a 2-0 victory over Monterrey. The result ends the Rayados’ unbeaten start to the Clausura 2017 season.

The Xolos were looking to get back to winning ways after a loss and a draw in their last two outings, and they began attacking from the opening whistle. In the 17th minute, Víctor Malcorra sent a low cross to the near post, where Juan Lucero appeared to finish off the chance and make it 1-0.

Monterrey looked for a response and Dorlan Pabón had an opportunity to tie the game five minutes later, but Víctor Aguilera timed his tackle perfectly just as Pabón was preparing to pull the trigger.

The Rayados had another good chance just after the second half began. In the 46th minute, Gibrán Lajud gave up a rebound and Rogelio Funes Mori was first to the loose ball, but he couldn’t put his shot on target.

In the 64th minute, Tijuana put some distance between themselves and the visitors with a second goal. Following a foul on Avilés Hurtado, the Xolos had a free kick in a dangerous area. Víctor Malcorra took the free kick and he sent the ball into the corner, out of the reach of Hugo González.

Despite attack-minded substitutions, Monterrey was unable to go on to find a second tying goal. The team that came closest to scoring again was Tijuana, and in the 77th minute they would have made it 3-0 were it not for Iván Piris heading away a shot from Hurtado.

With the 2-0 win, Tijuana reaches 16 points while Monterrey still has 13.



Tijuana: Manuel Gibrán Lajud, Guido Rodríguez, Juan Carlos Valenzuela, Damián Pérez, Michael Orozco, Víctor Aguilera, Víctor Malcorra, Avilés Hurtado (Matías Pisano 81′), Joe Corona, Juan Lucero (Henry Martín 71′), Milton Caraglio (Paul Arriola 66′).

Monterrey: Hugo González, Edgar Castillo (Arturo González 57′), César Montes, Iván Piris, José Maria Basanta, Jesús Mlina, Nicolás Sánchez, Edwin Cardona (Walter Gargano 79′), Celso Ortiz (Yimmi Chara 57′), Rogelio Funes Mori, Dorlan Pabón. 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.