Necaxa vs Jaguares de Chiapas – Jornada 11 Recap and Highlights

Both teams had the lead at one time or another, but in the end Necaxa and Jaguares de Chiapas had to settle for a 2-2 draw. The result keeps the Rayos unbeaten in three but winless in four, while Jaguares remain winless in two and winless in four on the road.

With both teams involved in the relegation fight, there was plenty of motivation on both sides to earn a victory. Necaxa seized the initiative and began to test Moisés Muñoz, with Edson Puch having the first opportunity of the night.

Although Muñoz saved that attempt, Puch would not be denied. In the 22nd minute, Leonel Aguirre sent in a cross and Puch beat his marker to the ball, heading it past Muñoz and giving the Rayos the 1-0 lead.

Jaguares adjusted at halftime and came out in the second half ready to turn things around. In the 54th minute, Luis Leal found himself unmarked in the box as he headed home a cross from Julio Nava to make it 1-1.

Three minutes later, they completed the comeback with Dieter Villalpando surprising Marcelo Barovero to make it 1-2 in the 57th minute.

The game turned into an end-to-end affair then as Necaxa looked to get back into the game and Jaguares looked for a third goal to put the game out of reach.

In the 78th minute, Puch sent a dangerous cross into the box and the unfortunate Félix Araujo nodded it into his own net to restore parity.

The closing stages of the game were fast and furious as both teams looked for a winning goal, but in the end they had to settle for the draw.

With the 2-2 draw, Necaxa reaches 10 points while Jaguares reach 13.



Necaxa: Marcelo Barovero, Brayan Beckeles, Jesús Chávez (Emilio MacEachen 62′), Mario de Luna, Jonás Aguirre, Manuel Iturra, Xavier Báez (Maximiliano Barreiro 64′), Luis Gallegos, Edson Puch, Claudio Riaño, Nicolás Maturana (Jesús Isijara 73′).

Jaguares: Moisés Muñoz, Bruno Pereira Pires, Julio Nava, Aquivaldo Mosquera, Félix Araujo, Brayan Angulo, Christian Bermúdez (Mateus Goncalves 28′ – Juan Patiño 89′), Dieter Villalpando, Lucas Silva, Luis Miño, Luis Leal (Franco Arizala 85′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.