Atlas vs Tijuana – Jornada 12 Recap and Highlights

Atlas took the lead but couldn’t hold it in this wild game that finished 3-3 between the Rojinegros and Tijuana, who ended the night with 10 men. The result keeps Atlas winless in three while the Xolos are now winless in two.

The hosts opened the scoring early on from a set piece. Manuel Gibrán Lajud failed to deal with a corner kick and Matías Alustiza was there to make it 1-0 for Atlas.

The lead lasted just two minutes before Tijuana equalized, however. In the 13th minute, the Xolos took advantage of a corner kick of their own to make it 1-1, with Avilés Hurtado’s scissor-kick tying the game.

Tijuana then completed the turnaround with a second goal from Hurtado in the 37th minute. Milton Caraglio found the Colombian unmarked in the box and he finished off the pass to make it 1-2.

But there was another twist before halftime. José Madueña used his speed to get through Tijuana’s defense before beating the keeper to tie the game 2-2 in the 41st minute.

The frenetic pace continued in the second half, and the visitors retook the lead in the 59th minute from the penalty spot. Milton Caraglio converted the spot kick to make it 2-3 for Tijuana.

But four minutes after that it was all level once more, with Matías Alustiza scoring his second of the night to make it 3-3.

Tijuana then went down to 10 men in the 72nd minute with the sending off of Jorge Ortiz, and in the waning moments of the game it looked like Atlas would retake the lead when referee Adonai Escobedo pointed to the penalty spot once again.

But Alustiza was unable to finish off his hat-trick, with Gibrán Lajud saving the penalty to preserve the draw.

With the 3-3 draw, Atlas reaches 15 points while Tijuana reaches 18.



Atlas: Miguel Ángel Fraga, Leiton Jiménez, Gaddi Aguirre, José Madueña, Daniel Álvarez, Javier Salas (Fidel Martínez 65′), Luis Reyes, Brayan Garnica, Matías Alustiza, Martín Barragán (Jahir Barraza 85′), Clifford Aboagye.

Tijuana: Manuel Gibrán Lajud, Juan Carlos Valenzuela, Damián Pérez, Michael Orozco, Carlos Vargas, Víctor Malcorra (Juan Carlos Medina 85′), Avilés Hurtado (Hiram Muñoz 90′), Juan Lucero (Paul Arriola 65′), Milton Caraglio, Jorge Ortiz, Joe Corona. 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.