Veracruz vs Puebla – Jornada 10 Recap and Highlights

In this game with crucial relegation implications, Veracruz beat Puebla 3-2. The result gives the Tiburones Rojos back-to-back home wins and could see them move out of last place in the Tabla de Cociente, depending on other results. As for Puebla, the Poblanos have now lost two in a row and are winless in five.

With so much on the line in this one, both teams came out looking to pick up all three points. Veracruz had the first few chances of the game, but Puebla was well-organized in the back.

Just as it looked like the game would go to halftime goalless, Veracruz struck. In the 40th minute, Óscar Rojas cleared the ball off the line to save Puebla, but just a minute later the Tiburones found the breakthrough. Adrián Luna played in Ángel Reyna, who gave the hosts the 1-0 lead.

Three minutes after that, a set piece made it 2-0 for the hosts, with Daniel Villalva’s header giving Veracruz a comfortable lead at halftime.

Puebla soon turned things around in the second half, however. In the 53rd minute, Alexis Canelo reduced the deficit to 2-1 to give the visitors hope; then, in the 64th minute, Carlos Guzmán tied the game 2-2.

But parity lasted just two minutes before Veracruz retook the lead. In the 66th minute, Luna sent a cross to Villalva, and “Keko” scored his second of the night to make it 3-2.

Puebla continued to press in search of another equalizer, but Veracruz was able to see out the result. A red card to Francisco Acuña in the 85th minute didn’t help matters for the visitors.

With the 3-2 win, Veracruz reaches 15 points while Puebla still has 10.



Veracruz: Pedro Gallese, Rodrigo Noya, Leobardo López (Antonio Briseño 70′), Miguel Cancela (Jehu Chiapas 80′), Jesús Paganoni, Édgar Andrade (Leandro Velázquez 45′), Cristian Pellerano, Daniel Villalva, Egidio Arévalo, Ángel Reyna, Adrián Luna.

Puebla: Cristian Campestrini, Édgar Dueñas, Óscar Rojas, Robert Herrera (Francisco Acuña 45′), Carlos Gutiérrez, Iván Centurión, Pablo Míguez, Francisco Torres (Jerónimo Amione 45′), Patricio Araujo, Federico González (Álvaro Navarro 76′), Alexis Canelo.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.