Monterrey vs Tigres UANL – Jornada 15 Recap and Highlights

In the Clausura 2017 edition of the Clásico Regio, Monterrey earned the bragging rights with a 1-0 victory over Tigres UANL. The result keeps the Rayados unbeaten in four and gives them a sixth consecutive home win, while the universitarios saw their three-game unbeaten streak brought to a halt.

The Clásico was hard-fought from the opening whistle, but both teams seemed more concerned with stopping the other than with mounting their own incisive attacks. There was controversy in the 27th minute, when Juninho used his arm to block a cross from José María Basanta, but referee Roberto García Orozco declined to call a penalty.

Monterrey then had another opportunity go begging in the 43rd minute, when Dorlan Pabón somehow managed to miss a clear chance when he was alone in front of goal. The game went to halftime still 0-0.

But ten minutes into the second half, Monterrey found the breakthrough. The Rayados had threatened in the 50th minute, when Pabón forced a good save out of Nahuel Guzmán, and then in the 56th minute they made it 1-0 when César Montes finished off a corner kick.

Although Ricardo Ferretti quickly went to his bench, the Rayados continued to look more dangerous than Tigres. The hosts came very close to making it two in the 84th minute, when Carlos Sánchez tried to catch out Guzmán, but his shot from distance ended up hitting the crossbar.

Tigres found a burst of inspiration in the waning moments and they put Hugo González to work, but in the end Monterrey was able to make their lone goal hold up to win the 110th edition of the Clásico Regio.

With the 1-0 win, Monterrey reaches 27 points while Tigres still have 19.



Monterrey: Hugo González, César Montes, Édgar Castillo, Iván Piris, Efraín Juárez, José María Basanta, Jesús Molina, Celso Ortiz (Walter Ayoví 76′), Yimmi Chara (Carlos Sánchez 65′), Dorlan Pabón (Edwin Cardona 82′), Rogelio Funes Mori.

Tigres: Nahuel Guzmán, Juninho (Damián Álvarez 76′),Hugo Ayala, Luis Rodríguez, Jorge Torres Nilo, Ismael Sosa (Jürgen Damm 62′), Francisco Meza (Lucas Zelarayán 66′), Eduardo Vargas, Jesús Dueñas, Javier Aquino, André-Pierre Gignac. 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.