CCL: Pachuca vs Tigres UANL – Final Second Leg Recap and Highlights

Embed from Getty Images

Pachuca won their fifth CONCACAF Champions League title with a 1-0 (2-1 aggregate) victory against Tigres UANL in the 2016-17 CCL final.

The 1-1 draw in the first leg left everything to play for tonight; Pachuca had the slight advantage of an away goal, meaning that it was Tigres who were obligated to score tonight. Although the Tuzos had the better of the run of play for most of the first half, the universitarios found two very good chances, both through André-Pierre Gignac.

In the 14th minute, Alfonso Blanco was called into action with a great save to deny the Frenchman; then, in the 32nd minute, Gignac beat the keeper but was denied by the crossbar.

Pachuca had more possession, and Hirving Lozano, Franco Jara, and Jonathan Urretaviscaya all looked dangerous – with Tigres often resorting to fouls to stop “Chucky” – but when halftime came, the game was still 0-0 (1-1 agg.)

Tigres made two halftime changes as they looked to get more of a foothold in the game, with Luis Advíncula and Eduardo Vargas coming on.

The game evened out in the second half, and neither team could find the breakthrough. Then, in the 77th minute, Guido Pizarro was sent off after picking up his second yellow card of the night, and Pachuca soon made their man advantage count.

In the 82nd minute, Nahuel Guzmán gave up a rebound on a shot from Lozano, and Franco Jara was there to give Pachuca the 1-0 (2-1) lead.

Despite being down a man and down a goal, Tigres kept pressing right until the end. In the 93rd minute, Gignac put the ball in the back of the net and for a brief moment the universitarios thought they had done enough to send the game to extra time, but the would-be goal was disallowed for offside.

There was no time left and Pachuca was able to hold on to their lead.

With the 1-0 win (2-1 aggregate), Pachuca is champion of the 2016-17 CONCACAF Champions League. The Tuzos will represent CONCACAF in the 2017 Club World Cup.



Pachuca: Alfonso Blanco, Omar González, Emmanuel García, Óscar Murillo, Víctor Guzmán (Erick Aguirre 77′), Raúl López, Jonathan Urretaviscaya (John Stefan Medina 84′), Erick Gutiérrez, Jorge Hernández, Hirving Lozano (Francisco Figueroa 89′), Franco Jara. 

Tigres: Nahuel Guzmán, Hugo Ayala, Jorge Torres Nilo, Jesús Dueñas (Lucas Zelarayán 75′), Juninho, Javier Aquino, Luis Rodríguez (Luis Advíncula 45′), Guido Pizarro, Jürgen Damm (Eduardo Vargas 45′), Ismael Sosa, André-Pierre Gignac. 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.