Monterrey vs Tigres UANL – Quarterfinal Second Leg Recap and Highlights

Tigres UANL picked up a 0-2 away win against Monterrey in the second leg of their Clásico Regio quarterfinal series to confirm the universitarios’ place in the semifinals with a 6-1 aggregate victory.

The series was all-but-decided after Tigres earned an emphatic 4-1 win in the first leg, but Monterrey was looking to salvage some pride, if not the series, in their home leg. The Rayados started the game off at a good pace, but they were unable to find an early goal to give them hope.

Monterrey’s frenetic press caused some controversy in the 20th minute, when Rogelio Funes Mori’s attempt to win the ball from Nahuel Guzmán ended with the Monterrey man planting his studs in the goalkeeper’s ankle. Tigres argued for a red card, but although referee Fernando Hernández handed out no fewer than 10 yellows over the course of the 90 minutes, the game still finished 11 vs 11.

Dorlan Pabón had the best opportunity of the half for the hosts in the 30th minute, when his powerful shot careened off the post. Then, just before halftime, Tigres struck. André-Pierre Gignac took a free kick and sent it past Hugo González to make it 0-1 (1-5 aggregate).

Monterrey made two halftime substitutions as they looked to get back into the game, and they did create chances. Guzmán had to make a number of saves, several quite impressive ones, to preserve his clean sheet.

Then, in the 67th minute, Gignac struck again to put the game and the series definitively to bed. The Frenchman got past César Montes, who slipped at an inopportune moment, and sent his shot into the right corner to make it 0-2 (1-6).

With the 0-2 (1-6 aggregate) win, Tigres advance to the semifinals while Monterrey is eliminated.



Monterrey: Hugo González, Edgar Castillo, César Montes, Iván Piris, Efraín Juárez (Carlos Sánchez 45′), José María Basanta, Walter Gargano (Yimmi Chara 45′), Edwin Cardona, Rogelio Funes Mori, Dorlan Pabón (Marco Bueno 64′), Jesús Molina. 

Tigres: Nahuel Guzmán, Juninho, Hugo Ayala, Ismael Sosa (Jürgen Damm 72′), Guido Pizarro, Javier Aquino, Alberto Acosta, Luis Rodríguez, Jesús Dueñas (Luis Advincula 58′), Lucas Zelarayán, André-Pierre Gignac.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.