Clausura 2017 Final Set

The Clausura 2017 Gran Final is set, and Chivas de Guadalajara and Tigres UANL will face off for the league title.

Chivas is returning to a league final for the first time since the Apertura 2006 season, and they will be looking for their 12th title – which would tie rivals América for most league championships.

Tigres, meanwhile, is looking for their sixth league title, and they are also looking to become just the third team to win back-to-back titles in the short season era, after Pumas in the Clausura 2004/Apertura 2004 and León in the Apertura 2013/Clausura 2014 seasons.

The final is a two-leg, aggregate-goals series. Unlike in the rest of the playoffs, away goals are not tiebreakers, nor is the higher seed; any aggregate draw will send the second leg to extra time and then penalties if needed.

The Gran Final schedule is as follows; all times Eastern, home team listed first.

Playoffs – Liguilla – Final First Leg
Thursday, May 25
Tigres UANL (7) vs Chivas de Guadalajara (3) – 10:00 PM

Playoffs – Liguilla – Final Second Leg
Sunday, May 28
Chivas de Guadalajara (3) vs Tigres UANL (7) – 7:06 PM


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.