Tigres UANL vs Chivas de Guadalajara – Final First Leg Recap and Highlights

A late brace by André-Pierre Gignac gave Tigres UANL a 2-2 draw with Chivas de Guadalajara in the first leg of the Clausura 2017 Gran Final. El Rebaño saw their 0-2 lead disappear in a three-minute span and the series is now delicately balanced ahead of the crucial second leg.

The universitarios came out looking to extend their winning streak in front of their home crowd, but Rodolfo Cota came up big for Chivas with saves on Lucas Zelarayán and Jesús Dueñas to keep the game goalless.

Then, in the 22nd minute, the visitors struck. Nahuel Guzmán couldn’t effectively clear a corner kick and Alan Pulido was there to make his former team pay, giving Chivas the 0-1 lead.

Guadalajara grabbed a second shortly before halftime, when Guzmán once again gave up a rebound. This time it was Rodolfo Pizarro who was there to clean up the loose ball as he sent it into the empty net to make it 0-2 in the 43rd minute.

Tuca Ferretti went to his bench at halftime as he looked to get Tigres back into the game, but Chivas continued to control the run of play for long stretches.

In the 78th minute, Dueñas hit the post as Tigres began to mount a late push; then, in the 84th minute, Gignac reduced the deficit. Damián Álvarez sent a low cross into the box that was deflected by a defender; the ball fell to the Frenchman, who made no mistake with his finish to make it 1-2.

Gignac then went on to tie the game with a golazo in the 88th minute as he ran on to a long ball to get behind the defense, rounded Cota, and sent a parabolic shot into the net from the edge of the box to make it 2-2.

With the 2-2 draw, Sunday’s second leg will be a winner-takes-all affair. There are no tiebreakers in the Gran Final – away goals or higher seed – so if the two teams draw again, the game will go to extra time and then penalties if needed.



Tigres: Nahuel Guzmán, Luis Advíncula (Damián Álvarez 72′), Juninho, Luis Rodríguez, Hugo Ayala (Francisco Meza 45′), Guido Pizarro, Javier Aquino, Jesús Dueñas, Ismael Sosa, Lucas Zelarayán (Jürgen Damm 62′), André-Pierre Gignac.

Chivas: Rodolfo Cota, Jesús Sánchez, Carlos Salcido, Oswaldo Alanís, Edwin Hernández (Guillermo Martínez 77′), Néstor Calderón (Carlos Fierro 61′), Rodolfo Pizarro, Orbelín Pineda (Miguel Ángel Ponce 72′), José Juan Vázquez, Michael Pérez, Alan Pulido. 

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.