Chivas de Guadalajara vs Tigres UANL – Final Second Leg Recap and Highlights

Chivas de Guadalajara beat Tigres UANL 2-1 (4-3 aggregate) to claim the Clausura 2017 league title, their 12th, and prevent the universitarios from claiming the bicampeonato.

The 2-2 first leg draw left everything to play for tonight by setting up a simple winner-takes-all scenario.

The visitors had the first dangerous chance of the game in the 13th minute, when Ismael Sosa found an unmarked Jürgen Damm in the box, but Rodolfo Cota made a good save to deny Damm the opening goal.

Just four minutes after that, the hosts took the lead. Oswaldo Alanís sent a precise pass to Alan Pulido, who volleyed the ball past Nahuel Guzmán to make it 1-0 (3-2).

Tigres pressed in search of an equalizer, with Jesús Dueñas’s attacking forays from midfield proving difficult for Chivas to defend, but halftime came with Guadalajara still holding the lead.

In the second half, Tigres continued to look dangerous, with Javier Aquino, Andre-Pierre Gignac, and Sosa keeping Chivas busy in the back. Nevertheless, the defense did well to keep the universitarios off the board.

Then, in the 70th minute, Chivas added a second goal to give themselves a buffer. José Juan Vázquez took a shot from outside the box, and “Gallito” saw his attempt deflected by Francisco Meza before going in off the post to make it 2-0 (4-2).

The goal gave Chivas some peace of mind, but Tigres had overturned a two-goal deficit in the first leg and they were determined to do the same here. UANL continued to press forward and in the 89th minute, Ismael Sosa set up a frenetic finish when he reduced the deficit to 2-1 (4-3).

With five minutes of stoppage time posted, Tigres threw everyone forward in search of a last-gasp equalizer. There was a bit of controversy late on when Jair Pereira brought down Sosa in the box, but referee Luis Enrique Santander declined to call what looked like a clear penalty, and in the end Tigres could not find a second goal.

With the 2-1 (4-3 aggregate) win, Chivas wins the Clausura 2017 league title.



Chivas: Rodolfo Cota, Oswaldo Alanís, Jair Pereira, Carlos Salcido, Edwin Hernández, Jesús Sánchez, Orbelín Pineda (Ángel Zaldívar 93′), José Juan Vázquez, Rodolfo Pizarro, Néstor Calderón (Carlos Fierro 59′), Alan Pulido.

Tigres: Nahuel Guzmán, Juninho, Hugo Ayala (Francisco Meza 66′), Alberto Acosta (Lucas Zelarayán 59′), Luis Rodríguez (Damián Álvarez 73′), Guido Pizarro, Jesús Dueñas, Javier Aquino, Jürgen Damm, André-Pierre Gignac, Ismael Sosa. 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.