Apertura 2017 Copa MX Groups Announced

The draw has been held and the groups are known for the Apertura 2017 Copa MX . Seventeen Liga MX teams (all save the newly promoted Lobos BUAP) and 10 from Ascenso MX were drawn into nine groups of three for the cup competition.

The teams were divided into three pots for the draw, based on the teams’ cumulative records from the 2016-17 seasons. One team from each pot drawn into each group, with the caveat that each group must contain at least one team from Liga MX and one from Ascenso MX.

The resulting groups were:

Group 1: Dorados de Sinaloa, Toluca, Leones Negros
Group 2: Monterrey, Celaya, Pumas UNAM
Group 3: Potros UAEM, América, Atlas
Group 4: Tijuana, Atlante, Puebla
Group 5: Tigres UANL, Zacatepec, Cruz Azul
Group 6: Alebrijes de Oaxaca, León, Veracruz
Group 7: Chivas de Guadalajara, FC Juárez, Santos Laguna
Group 8: Pachuca, Cimarrones, Querétaro
Group 9: Zacatecas, Necaxa, Monarcas Morelia

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.