Liga MX Femenil Apertura 2017 Schedule Announced

Liga MX has announced the schedule and format of the inaugural Liga MX Femenil Apertura 2017 season. The newly-launched women’s league consists of 16 teams, which are affiliated with all the current men’s Liga MX teams except for the newly promoted Lobos BUAP and Puebla, which was given an extension to launch a women’s team due to their current financial situation.

The 16 teams were divided into the following geographically-based groups:

Group 1: América, Tijuana, Cruz Azul, Monarcas Morelia, Pachuca, Veracruz, Toluca, and Pumas UNAM;

Group 2: Atlas, Querétaro, Chivas de Guadalajara, León, Necaxa, Monterrey, Santos Laguna, and Tigres UANL.

Each team will play the others in its group twice for a total of 14 games. The top two teams in each group will then advance to the semifinals, with the winner of Group 1 facing the runner-up of Group 2 and vice-versa.

The regular season will begin on July 28th and conclude on October 29th. The semifinals will be played on November 4th and 11th, with the final to be held on November 18th and 25th.

The complete schedule can be found here.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.