Confederations Cup: Portugal vs Mexico – Recap and Highlights

In their 2017 Confederations Cup debut, Mexico scored a stoppage-time goal to tie Portugal 2-2. El Tri twice came from behind to tie the game, leaving Mexico and Portugal to share the spoils in this Group A match.

After a few minutes of feeling each other out, both teams went on the attack. It was Portugal who had the ball in the back of the net first, but that would-be goal was disallowed thanks to the new video assistance referee technology.

In the 19th minute, Portugal won a free kick, which Cristiano Ronaldo sent into the wall. He collected the rebound and hit the bar; that rebound was sent back into the box yet again and nodded in by Pepe; however, VAR ruled Pepe was offside from the initial ball in.

Nevertheless, Portugal rallied and had the ball in the net again in the 34th minute – and that time it counted. Ricardo Quaresma received the ball from Ronaldo, got around Memo Ochoa, and sent the ball into the empty net to make it 1-0.

But Mexico tied it up just before halftime, with Javier “Chicharito” Hernández making it 1-1 in the 41st minute. Carlos Vela corralled a cross at the far post and sent it back across goal for Chicharito, who headed it home.

The second half remained deadlocked until the 86th minute, when Cedric pounced on a blocked ball in the box and sent a shot towards goal, where it was deflected past Ochoa by the unfortunate Héctor Herrera.

That goal looked like it would prove to be the winner, but Mexico responded in stoppage time. In the 91st minute, Héctor Moreno finished off a cross from Jonathan dos Santos with a header off the post to make it 2-2.

With the 2-2 draw, Mexico and Portugal both have one point.

Both teams play again on Wednesday, when Mexico takes on New Zealand and Portugal faces Russia.


Group Standings – Group A

# Team W T L GF GA GD Points
1 Russia 1 0 0 2 0 +2 3
2 Mexico 0 1 0 2 2 0 1
3 Portugal 0 1 0 2 2 0 1
4 New Zealand 0 0 1 0 2 -2 0


Portugal: Rui Patricio, José Fonte, Pepe, Raphael Guerreiro, Cedric Soares, William Carvalho, João Moutinho (Adrien Silva 58′), André Gomes, Ricardo Quaresma (André Silva 82′), Cristiano Ronaldo, Nani (Gelson Martins 58′).

Mexico: Guillermo Ochoa, Héctor Moreno, Diego Reyes, Miguel Layún, Carlos Salcedo (Néstor Araujo 67′), Héctor Herrera, Andrés Guardado, Jonathan dos Santos, Raúl Jiménez (Oribe Peralta 79′), Javier Hernández, Carlos Vela (Giovani dos Santos 57′). 

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.