Mexico’s 2017 Gold Cup Roster

Mexico has announced their final 23-man roster for the 2017 Gold Cup, whittled down from the preliminary 40-man roster that was announced earlier this month.

The Gold Cup will run from July 7th to 26th. El Tri was drawn into Group C alongside El Salvador, Curaçao, and Jamaica.

Due to Mexico’s participation in June’s Confederation Cup, their Gold Cup roster is peppered with players seeking just their first or second caps, such as Miguel Ángel Fraga and Ángel Sepúlveda.

The complete 23-man roster is as follows:

Goalkeepers (3): Moisés Muñoz (Puebla), José de Jesús Corona (Cruz Azul), Miguel Ángel Fraga (Atlas).

Defenders (9): Raúl López (Pachuca), Luis Rodríguez (Tigres), Jesús Molina (Monterrey), Hedgardo Marín (Chivas), Hugo Ayala (Tigres), César Montes (Monterrey), Jair Pereira (Chivas), Alejandro Mayorga (Chivas), Luis Reyes (Atlas).

Midfielders (5): Jesús Gallardo (Pumas), Jorge Hernández (Pachuca), Jesús Dueñas (Tigres), Rodolfo Pizarro (Chivas), Edson Álvarez (América).

Forwards (6): Orbelín Pineda (Chivas), Erick Gutiérrez (Pachuca), Elías Hernández (Leon), Martín Barragán (Necaxa), Alan Pulido (Chivas), Ángel Sepúlveda (Morelia).

1 thought on “Mexico’s 2017 Gold Cup Roster

  1. Pingback: Gold Cup: Mexico vs El Salvador – Where to Watch | Soccer, Translated

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.