2017 Liga MX Balón de Oro Awards

Image result for liga mx balon de oro 2017The Liga MX Balón de Oro awards were presented this Saturday at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.

In total, thirteen awards were handed out to recognize outstanding performance in the Apertura 2016 and Clausura 2017 season.

The Best of the 2016-17 Season

Best Goal: Alan Pulido of Chivas de Guadalajara against Tigres UANL in the Clausura 2017 Gran Final.

Best Goalkeeper: Rolfodo Cota of Chivas de Guadalajara.

Best Defender: Néstor Araujo of Santos Laguna.

Best Defensive Midfielder: Guido Rodríguez of Tijuana.

Best Attacking Midfielder: Edson Puch with Necaxa. (He moved to Pachuca this offseason).

Best Striker: Raúl Ruidíaz of Monarcas Morelia.

Best Rookie: Walter Gael Sandoval of Santos Laguna.

Best Coach: Matías Almeyda of Chivas de Guadalajara.

Player of the Year: Raúl Ruidíaz of Monarcas Morelia. 

Goalscorer of the Year: Raúl Ruidíaz of Monarcas Morelia.

Special Awards

Career: Ignacio Trelles was recognized as “one of the best representatives of Mexican soccer”, with Liga MX honoring him for his long career as both player and coach. The award was accepted for Trelles by his grandson.

Siente tu Liga: For someone who “inspires the world of soccer and society in general”, this award was granted to Jaime Ramírez.

Recognition of Social Responsibility: The Rafael Márquez Foundation


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.