Only Six Ascenso MX Teams Eligible for Promotion

Ascenso MX has announced that only six of its 16 teams are eligible for promotion to Liga MX. Although all 16 teams will play the Apertura 2017 and Clausura 2018 season and compete for the league title, not all of them meet the requirements to earn promotion to the first division.

To advance to Liga MX, teams must have complete infrastructure, a training center independent of their stadium, and an academy or youth program (the “Fuerzas Basicas”).

The six teams that meet those requirements are: San Luis, Atlante, Celaya, Dorados de Sinaloa, FC Juarez, and Leones Negros.

Usually, the winners of the Apertura and Clausura seasons compete in a promotion playoff for a spot in Liga MX. It is unclear how the promoted team will be decided if one of the ten ineligible teams – Alebrijes de Oaxaca, Zacatepec, Cafetaleros de Tapachula, Cimarrones, Correcaminos, Mineros de Zacatecas, Murciélagos, Venados, Potros UAEM, or Tampico – wins either or both league titles.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.