Puebla vs Monarcas Morelia – Jornada 2 Recap and Highlights

Brayan Angulo scored twice, once for either side, as Puebla and Monarcas Morelia played out a 1-1 draw. The result keeps Morelia unbeaten in the Apertura 2017, but leaves both teams still looking for their first win.

The Poblanos were looking to recover from a painful week one loss in their first home game, but Morelia looked better in the opening minutes. Puebla was careless with the ball in their own defensive third and the michoacanos nearly took advantage in the 4th minute, but they couldn’t quite get the ball on target.

Despite that early shakiness, Puebla was able to take the lead less than 10 minutes into the game. In the 9th minute, Brayan Angulo headed home a free kick to make it 1-0 for the hosts with their first goal of the season.

It wasn’t all good news for Puebla, though, as captain David Toledo picked up an injury and had to be subbed out just a minute after that.  

As the half continued, Morelia regained their equilibrium and they were able to tie the game just before the break. In the 45th minute, Morelia won a corner kick, which ultimately deflected off the unfortunate Brayan Angulo to make it 1-1.

Both teams pressed for a second goal as the second half began, but the game began to devolve into a decidedly chippy affair, with referee Óscar Macías kept busy calling fouls and handing out yellow cards.

In the waning minutes of the game, Puebla put the ball in the net, only to see the would-be goal disallowed for a foul in the buildup. Then, Carlos Salom’s last-gasp attempt was deflected wide as Puebla and Morelia had to settle for a share of the spoils.

With the 1-1 draw, Puebla reaches one point while Morelia reaches two.



Puebla: Moisés Muñoz, José Daniel Guerrero, Luis Venegas, Alonso Zamora, Brayan Angulo, Erik Pimentel, David Toledo (Alonso Escoboza 10′), Francisco Acuña (Gabriel Esparza 61′), Jonás Aguirre, Christian Marrugo, Félix Micolta (Carlos Salom 78′).

Morelia: Carlos Sosa, Enrique Pérez, Sebastián Vegas, Gabriel Achilier, Emanuel Loeschbor, Jefferson Cuero (Rodolfo Vilchis 88′), Andy Polo, Diego Valdés, Mario Osuna, Miguel Ángel Sansores (Ángel Sepúlveda 45′), Gastón Lezcano (Jorge Zárate 77′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.