Veracruz vs Puebla – Jornada 3 Recap and Highlights

Veracruz beat Puebla 2-0 to give the Tiburones Rojos their first victory of the season. The result keeps Puebla winless in the Apertura 2017.

The game started at a good pace as both teams pressed forward in search of that elusive first victory. It was the visitors who started off better, but it was the hosts who opened the scoring. In the 9th minute, Adrián Luna scored direct from a free kick to give Veracruz the 1-0 lead – and their first goal of the Apertura.

The Tiburones Rojos grew in confidence after taking the lead, and they began to control possession. In the 20th minute, they created another good chance when Guido Milán got his head to a corner kick, but his attempt went just over the bar.

Puebla took some time to settle back into the game after falling behind, but by the 25th minute they were creating chances of their own. Francisco Acuña had a good opportunity from within the box, but his shot ended up off target.

Then, just before halftime, Veracruz made it 2-0. In the 41st minute, Cristian Menéndez picked off a backpass from Gerardo Venegas and beat Moisés Muñoz to put the Tiburones comfortably ahead.

The hosts continued to control the game in the second half, and they came closer to adding a third than the Poblanos did to reducing the deficit. Puebla’s hopes of a comeback took a blow in the 59th minute, when Pablo Cáceres was sent off with his second yellow card of the night.

Down to 10 men, Puebla was unable to create much going forward, while Veracruz continued to search out a third goal. In the 61st minute, Jefferson Murillo sent a cross in for Cristian Pellerano, whose goal-bound attempt was stopped by defender Brayan Angulo.

As time wore on, Veracruz took their foot off the gas and sat back to defend their lead, but even so Puebla was unable to take advantage.

With the 2-0 win, Veracruz reaches three points while Puebla still has one.



Veracruz: Pedro Gallese, Jefferson Murillo, Kristian Álvarez, Jesús Paganoni, Guido Milán, Cristian Pellerano (Diego Chávez 76′), Luis Martínez, Christian Valdez, Daniel Villalva (Richard Ruíz 67′), Adrián Luna (Manuel Viniegra 87′), Cristian Menéndez.

Puebla: Moisés Muñoz, Alonso Zamora, Erik Pimentel, Pablo Cáceres, José Daniel Guerrero, Félix Micolta (Óscar Rojas 64′), Brayan Angulo, Luis Venegas (Alonso Escoboza 51′), Francisco Acuña (Gabriel Esparza 64′), Carlos Salom, Christian Marrugo. 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.