Pachuca vs Veracruz – Jornada 6 Recap and Highlights

Pachuca extended their winning streak to three games with a comprehensive 4-1 win against Veracruz. The result ends a three-game unbeaten run for the Tiburones Rojos and leaves them winless in two.

The hosts took the lead in the 14th minute. Erick Aguirre got free on the left and sent in a low cross; Ángelo Sagal’s initial shot was blocked by Pedro Gallese, but the Chilean pounced on the rebound to make it 1-0.

Aguirre suffered an injury a few minutes later that saw him subbed off for Edson Puch, but that forced change didn’t disrupt the Tuzos’ rhythm as the hosts continued to press. In the 22nd minute, Víctor Guzmán came within inches of adding to Pachuca’s lead with his shot that crashed against the crossbar.

Then, in the 31st minute, the Tuzos hit the woodwork again, this time through Puch, whose volleyed attempt from outside the box hit the underside of the crossbar and bounced out. But Guzmán was there to corral the loose ball and slide it into the net to make it 2-0.

The night quickly got worse for Veracruz. Gallese injured his right hand while attempting to stop Puch’s shot, and after a six-minute delay he was subbed out for Édgar Melitón Hernández.

In the second half, Pachuca continued to add to their lead. In the 52nd minute, Guzmán scored his second of the night when he got his head to a corner kick, sending the ball in off the far post to make it 3-0.

Keisuke Honda made his debut for the hosts in the 58th minute, and he scored his first goal for them in the 72nd. Guzmán played him in and Honda sent his low shot from outside the box into the bottom corner to make it 4-0.

Veracruz was able to score a consolation goal through Cristian Pellerano in the 78th minute, but it was too little, too late, for the Tiburones Rojos.

With the 4-1 win, Pachuca reaches nine points while Veracruz still has seven.



Pachuca: Óscar Pérez, Emmanuel García, Raúl López, Robert Herrera, Óscar Murillo, Erick Aguirre (Edson Puch 20′ – Joaquín Martínez 58′), Jorge Hernández, Jonathan Urretaviscaya, Víctor Guzmán, Erick Gutiérrez, Angel Sagal (Keisuke Honda 58′). 

Veracruz: Pedro Gallese (Édgar Melitón Hernández 38′), Lucas Rodríguez, José Manuel Velázquez, Jesús Paganoni, Kristian Álvarez, Adrián Luna, Christian Valdez (Diego Chávez 64′), Daniel Villalva, Cristian Pellerano, Luis Martínez, Cristian Menéndez (Leandro Díaz 55′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.