Querétaro vs Tijuana – Jornada 6 Recap and Highlights

Tijuana earned a second consecutive win with a 1-3 victory against 10-man Querétaro. The result ends a three-game unbeaten streak for the Gallos Blancos and leaves them winless in two.

The game started off slowly with the two teams looking evenly matched. Neither side was able to take control of the game in the early going, but at the half-hour mark Tijuana struck. In the 30th minute, Luis Chávez’s shot from distance deflected off Luis Mendoza, wrong-footing Tiago Volpi and giving the Xolos the 0-1 lead.

Before Querétaro could react to falling behind, Tijuana made it 0-2. In the 31st minute, the Gallos Blancos lost the ball as they tried to play out of the back; Víctor Malcorra pounced on the loose ball and drove into the box before sliding the ball over to Damián Pérez, who made no mistake with his finish.

In the second half Querétaro looked to regroup and they were able to reduce the deficit in the 59th minute. Jordi Cortizo sent a left-footed shot from outside the box past Gibrán Lajud to make it 1-2 and give the Gallos a lifeline.

However, just five minutes after that book, Querétaro’s hopes of an equalizer took a blow when Yerson Candelo was sent off with a straight red card. Shortly after that, Tijuana scored a definitive third goal. In the 72nd minute, Gustavo Bou received a long pass, got past Miguel Martínez, and sent his shot to the near post to make it 1-3.

That goal was a blow to Querétaro’s morale, and their play began to suffer. The Xolos were able to comfortably hold the lead and leave La Corregidora with all three points.

With the 1-3 win, Tijuana reaches seven points while Querétaro still has eight.



Querétaro: Tiago Volpi, Alexis Pérez, Jaime Gómez, Jonathan Bornstein (Camilo Sanvezzo 77′), Miguel Ángel Martínez, Aldo Arellano, Jordi Cortizo, Javier Güémez, Yerson Candelo, Luis Noriega (Édgar Benítez 56′), Emanuel Villa (Everaldo Stum 70′).

Tijuana: Manuel Gibrán Lajud, Emanuel Aguilera, Juan Carlos Valenzuela, Aleandro Donatti, Juan Carlos Núñez, Damián Musto (Enzo Kalinski 76′), Damián Pérez, Víctor Malcorra, Luis Chávez (Joe Corona 67′), Gustavo Bou, Luis Mendoza (Matías Pisano 79′). 


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.