Monarcas Morelia vs Tijuana – Jornada 12 Recap and Highlights

Monarcas Morelia got back to winning ways with a 3-0 victory against 10-man Tijuana. The result ends a two-game winless streak for La Monarquía, while the Xolos have now lost two in a row.

The game changed in the 15th minute when Tijuana’s Emanuel Aguilera was sent off after receiving his second yellow card of the night – his first having come in the 4th minute. It took Morelia just three minutes to make their extra man count as Diego Valdés received a through ball from Carlos Guzmán to make it 1-0 for the hosts.

Despite being down a goal and down a man before the 20-minute mark, Tijuana still managed to look dangerous at times. Gustavo Bou had a good chance at an equalizer when he went one-on-one with Sebastián Sosa, but the goalkeeper won that exchange.

Morelia had a similar opportunity when Ángel Sepúlveda took on Gibrán Lajud, but again the goalkeeper persevered. Then, moments into the second half, Raúl Ruidíaz could have made but 2-0, but he sent his shot just wide.

Tijuana had another dangerous chance through Bou, but he couldn’t find the final touch at the end of a good run.

It wasn’t until the 77th minute that Morelia was able to put the game out of reach. Rodolfo Vilchis cut away from Juan Carlos Valenzuela and put his shot into the net to make it 2-0.

Then, just five minutes after that, Morelia put the exclamation mark on the win with a third goal. Lajud gave up a rebound on the initial shot by Mario Osuna, and although Ruidíaz couldn’t finish it off, Diego Valdés was there to apply the final touch.

With the 3-0 win, Morelia reaches 16 points while Tijuana still has 14.



Morelia: Sebastián Sosa, Carlos Guzmán, Sebastián Vegas, Jorge Valadéz, Carlos Rodríguez, Diego Valdés, Rodrigo Millar (Juan Pablo Rodríguez 71′), Mario Osuna, Ángel Sepúlveda (Andy Polo 85′), Gastón Lezcano (Rodolfo Vilchis 45′), Raúl Ruidíaz.

Tijuana: Manuel Gibrán Lajud, Juan Carlos Valenzuela, Emanuel Aguilera, Alejandro Donatti, Damián Musto, Joe Corona (Alejandro Guido 45′), Víctor Malcorra, Matías Aguirregaray (Miller Bolaños 71′), Damián Pérez, Juan Iturbe (Luis Mendoza 45′), Gustavo Bou.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.