Puebla vs Pumas UNAM – Jornada 15 Recap and Highlights

Puebla won their second consecutive home game with a 3-0 victory against Pumas UNAM. The result is a second straight loss for the universitarios, who also remain winless on the road this season.

The Poblanos took the lead in the 16th minute after a good bit of team play. Jerónimo Amione and Alonso Escoboza combined before sending the ball to Francisco Acuña; he found Luis Venegas, whose fist-time cross into the box was met by Escoboza to make it 1-0.

Pumas looked to respond and they had a chance of their own in the 36th minute. Jesús Gallardo brought the ball to the end-line before sending it back to Abraham González, but his attempt was sent out for a corner kick by Moisés Muñoz.

Then, in the 40th minute, it appeared that the universitarios had tied the game; however, Luis Quintana’s would-be goal was disallowed for offside.

In the second half, Pumas continued to push forward, but just when the visitors were enjoying their best spell, they conceded a penalty. Josécarlos van Rankin was called for a foul on Amione, and Francisco Torres converted the ensuing spot kick to make it 2-0 in the 60th minute.

Ten minutes later, it was 3-0. Amione played in Acuña, who drove into the box, got around the defender, and beat Alfredo Saldívar to put Puebla firmly in the driver’s seat.

The night took another turn for Pumas in the 74th minute when Nicolás Castillo – who had only entered the game in the 67th – was given a straight red card. Down a man and down three goals, there was no way back for the universitarios.

With the 3-0 win, Puebla reaches 15 points while Pumas still have 11.



Puebla: Moisés Muñoz, Alonso Zamora, Hugo Rodríguez, Luis Venegas, Carlos Gutiérrez, Francisco Torres, Francisco Acuña, José Daniel Guerrero, Christian Marrugo (Pablo González 65′), Alonso Escoboza (Patricio Araujo 57′), Jerónimo Amione (Carlos Salom 76′).

Pumas: Alfredo Saldívar, Alan Mendoza (Nicolás Castillo 67′), Luis Quintana, Gerardo Alcoba, Josécarlos van Rankin, Marcelo Díaz, Pablo Barrera (Alan Acosta 45′), Jesús Gallardo, David Cabrera, Abraham González, Mauro Formica.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.