León vs Veracruz – Jornada 15 Recap and Highlights

León demolished Veracruz 6-2 in this game that finished 10 vs 10. The result is a fourth straight home victory for La Fiera, while the Tiburones Rojos have now lost three in a row and are winless in five.

The game started off perfectly for the hosts, who took the lead in just the third minute. Elías Hernández played in Andrés Andrade, who finished off the service to make it 1-0 for León.

Then, in the 12th minute, Mauro Boselli was brought down in the box, giving León the chance to double their lead from the penalty spot. Boselli himself stepped up to take the spot kick, and he sent it past Melitón Hernández to make it 2-0.

Veracruz was able to reduce the deficit with a penalty of their own. In the 21st minute, Cristian Menéndez beat William Yarbrough from the spot to make it 2-1.

Then, just before halftime, León was reduced to 10 men when Alexander Mejía was given a straight red card. Veracruz made two halftime substitutions and it looked like the Tiburones had the chance to change the momentum.

Instead, despite playing down a man, León made it 3-1 in the 60th minute with Boselli’s second of the night.

Veracruz again reduced the deficit, with Menéndez scoring his second with a header from a corner kick to make it 3-2 in the 65th.

But immediately after that, Guido Milán was sent off with his second yellow card of the night, leaving Veracruz with 10 men as well. With numbers even, León began to run up the score.

Elías Hernández scored a brace, with goals in the 68th and 77th minutes to make it 5-2 before Juan Cornejo added another exclamation point to the win with his goal in the 89th minute.

With the 6-2 win, León reaches 26 points while Veracruz still has 14.



León: William Yarbrough, Juan Cornejo, Juan González, Andrés Mosquera, Fernando Navarro, Luis Montes, Alexander Mejía, Andrés Andrade (Iván Piris 71′), José Rodríguez (Jorge Pereyra 88′), Elías Hernández (Maximiliano Ceratto 88′), Mauro Boselli.

Veracruz: Édgar Melitón Hernández, Lucas Rodríguez, José Arturo Rivas, Kristian Álvarez (Martín Barvo 45′), Guido Milán, Richard Ruíz, Rafael Acosta, Luis Martínez, Diego Chávez (Christian Pellerano 45′), Adrián Luna (Jefferson Murillo 77′), Sergio García.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.