Quarterfinal First Leg: Toluca vs Monarcas Morelia – Recap and Highlights

In the first leg of their quarterfinal series, Toluca came from behind to claim a 2-1 win against Monarcas Morelia. Both of the Diablos Rojos goals came after the 90th minute as they stunned Morelia to change the complexion of this series.

Toluca looked dangerous early on with Rubens Sambueza playing in Alexis Canelo and Fernando Uribe, but the final touch was lacking. Then, in the 19th minute, Mario Osuna nearly gave Morelia the lead with his attempt that deflected off the defense and ended up just inches wide of the post.

Toluca was then denied by the offside flag in the 24th minute as Uribe thought he had given the Diablos the lead.

The second half started with a shot from distance by Sebastián Vegas, but Luis García was alert in goal to make the save. Uribe and Raúl Ruidíaz then exchanged chances before referee Jorge Pérez Durán called a penalty for the visitors.

In the 64th minute, Rodrigo Salinas was called for a handball in the box and Ruidíaz stepped up to take the penalty kick. The Peruvian sent it to his right and past García, who had gone the wrong way, to make it 0-1 for the Monarquía.

Toluca immediately began to look for a response and Uribe had several clear opportunities, but it wasn’t until the 90th minute that they were able to tie the game. Sambueza played in Uribe, who finally made one of his chances count as he made it 1-1.

Then, in the 93rd minute, the Diablos Rojos completed the comeback when Pablo Barrientos’ shot from outside the box deflected off Emmanuel Loeschbor and wrong-footed Sebastián Sosa to make it 2-1.

With the 2-1 win, Toluca will advance with a win or a draw in Saturday’s second leg. Due to the away goals tiebreaker, Morelia would advance with a 1-0 win; due to the higher seed tiebreaker, Morelia would also advance with a 2-1 win. But if Toluca scores more than one goal, Morelia would need to win by a two-goal margin to advance.



Toluca: Luis García, Santiago García, Osvaldo González, Efraín Velarde, Rodrigo Salinas (Carlos Esquivel 83′), Jesús Méndez, Antonio Ríos, Rubens Sambueza, Pablo Barrientos, Fernando Uribe, Alexis Canelo (Ernesto Vega 67′).

Morelia: Sebastián Sosa, Carlos Rodríguez, Sebastián Vegas, Gabriel Achilier, Carlos Guzmán, Rodrigo Millar (Aldo Rocha 72′), Mario Osuna, Diego Valdés, Rodolfo Vilchis (Gastón Lezcano 54′), Raúl Ruidíaz, Ángel Sepúlveda (Emmanuel Loeschbor 83′).


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.