Quarterfinal Second Leg: América vs Cruz Azul – Recap and Highlights

In the second leg of their Clásico Joven quarterfinal series, América and Cruz Azul once again played out a high-intensity but goalless draw. With the aggregate stubbornly remaining 0-0, América advanced due to the higher seed tiebreaker.

Cruz Azul traveled to the Estadio Azteca obligated to score; a draw would be enough for them so long as they managed an away goal. La Máquina had chances, with Francisco Silva sending a free kick towards the upper left corner, only for Guido Rodríguez to head the ball clear. Later, Felipe Mora forced a good save out of Agustín Marchesín with his point-blank header.

Marchesín was the man of the match for the Águilas, who were playing with several forced changes from the first leg due to suspensions. But in the second half, América began to go on the attack themselves.

Carlos Darwin Quintero and Oribe Peralta had opportunities against Jesús Corona, but the keeper was able to keep them off the board.

As the clock wound down, the game became increasingly frenetic. Cruz Azul’s constant forward press left a lot of space for América to exploit on the counter, and they came within inches more than once.

However, even if América had scored, that wouldn’t have changed the complexion of the game for the visitors: Cruz Azul needed a goal; 1-1 would have put them through just as well as 0-1 would have, and so they continued to press.

In the final minutes, La Máquina packed the box, with even Corona coming up for a late set piece, but Cruz Azul was never able to find the goal they needed.

With the 0-0 draw (0-0 aggregate draw), América advances to the semifinals while Cruz Azul is eliminated.



América: Agustín Marchesín, Carlos Vargas, Pablo Aguilar, Bruno Valdez, Miguel Ángel Samudio (Aldo Cruz 87′), Paul Aguilar, Guido Rodríguez, William da Silva, Carlos Darwin Quintero (Alejandro Díaz 84′), Silvio Romero (Renato Ibarra 61′), Oribe Peralta.

Cruz Azul: José de Jesús Corona, Enzo Roco, Julio César Domínguez, Julián Velázquez, Gerardo Flores (Martín Cauteruccio 58′), Francisco Silva (Víctor Zúñiga 79′), Gabriel Peñalba, Rafael Baca (Christian Giménez 58′), Martín Rodríguez, Édgar Méndez, Felipe Mora.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.