Semifinal Second Leg: Tigres UANL vs América – Recap and Highlights

Tigres UANL earned a 3-0 win against nine-man América in the second leg of their semifinal series to put the universitarios into the Gran Final with a 4-0 aggregate win. This will be Tigres’ third straight appearance in the final.

América came out attacking as they looked to overturn the first-leg deficit, but it was the hosts who always looked more likely to open the scoring. Tigres hit the woodwork twice, through Enner Valencia and André-Pierre Gignac, but neither team was able to find the breakthrough in the first half.

Then, in the 56th minute, Valencia gave Tigres the lead. The Ecuadorian received the ball on the right wing, drove into the box, and beat the onrushing Agustín Marchesín to make it 1-0 (2-0) for the universitarios.

That goal didn’t change anything for América, who still needed to score twice, but the Águilas’ hopes of a comeback were crushed as first Guido Rodríguez and then Edson Álvarez were red-carded in quick succession in the 60th and 66th minutes.

Scoring twice in the Volcán was always going to be a tough ask for América; doing so with just nine players was impossible.

Instead, Tigres began to run up the score. Valencia got his second of the night in the 72nd minute with an assist by Gignac; then, in the 76th, Tigres won a penalty after Diego Lainez fouled Jürgen Damm in the box.

Gignac converted the penalty to make it 3-0 (4-0) for the hosts and seal their appearance in the Gran Final, with their opponent to be determined tomorrow when Monterrey and Monarcas Morelia play their second leg.

With the 3-0 (4-0 aggregate) victory, Tigres advance to the final while América is eliminated.



Tigres: Nahuel Guzmán, Hugo Ayala, Jorge Torres Nilo (Alberto Acosta 62′), Francisco Meza, Luis Rodríguez, Rafael Carioca, Javier Aquino, Jesús Dueñas (Ismael Sosa 68′), Eduardo Vargas (Jürgen Damm 45′), André-Pierre Gignac, Enner Valencia.

América: Agustín Marchesín, Edson Álvarez, Miguel Ángel Samudio, Bruno Valdez, Paul Aguilar, Guido Rodríguez, Mateus Uribe (William da Silva 66′), Renato Ibarra, Carlos Darwin Quintero (Diego Lainez 73′), Silvio Romero (Alejandro Díaz 55′), Oribe Peralta.


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.