Gran Final: Monterrey vs Tigres UANL – Second Leg Recap and Highlights

Monterrey took the lead but couldn’t hold it as Tigres UANL earned a 1-2 away win to claim the Apertura 2017 title in this historic Clásico Regio final with a 3-2 aggregate victory.

A 1-1 first-leg draw left everything to play for here, and the Rayados grabbed a very early lead. In just the 2nd minute, Rogelio Funes Mori brought the ball down for Dorlan Pabón, whose volley beat Nahuel Guzmán to make it 1-0 (2-1) for the hosts.

That goal filled Monterrey with confidence, and the Rayados looked to add to their lead with dangerous attacks by Pabón and Funes Mori. But Tigres’ defensive rebuffed them and bit by bit the universitarios began to create good chances of their own.

In the 30th minute, the visitors found the equalizer. Jesús Dueñas found Eduardo Vargas at the top of the box, and although Hugo González got a hand to his shot, the keeper couldn’t keep it out as Vargas made it 1-1 (2-2).

Just minutes later, Tigres took the lead. In the 33rd minute, UANL had a corner kick, and Francisco Meza got his head to it to make it 1-2 (2-3) for the visitors.

In the second half, Monterrey pressed forward with intent as they looked to get back on level terms. They had a good chance in the 54th minute with a corner of their own, but Nahuel Guzmán made the save on Luis Fuentes.

It looked like the pressure would pay off for the Rayados in the 81st minute, when they earned a penalty kick. However, Avilés Hurtado sent the spot kick over the bar to keep Tigres ahead, 1-2.

That missed penalty took the air out of Monterrey’s sails while Tigres were able to control the final few minutes and see out the victory.

With the 2-1 (3-2 aggregate) win, Tigres are the Apertura 2017 Liga MX champions.



Monterrey: Hugo González, César Montes, Nicolás Sánchez, José María Basanta (Luis Fernando Fuentes 45′), John Stefan Medina, Carlos Sánchez (Jesús Zavala 87′), Neri Cardozo, Jonathan González (Jorge Benítez 79′), Rogelio Funes Mori, Dorlan Pabón, Avilés Hurtado.

Tigres: Nahuel Guzmán, Juninho, Jorge Torres Nilo, Francisco Meza, Luis Rodríguez, Rafael Carioca, Javier Aquino, Jesús Dueñas (Alberto Acosta 79′), Eduardo Vargas (Jürgen Damm 60′), André-Pierre Gignac, Enner Valencia (Ismael Sosa 75′).

1 thought on “Gran Final: Monterrey vs Tigres UANL – Second Leg Recap and Highlights

  1. Pingback: Tigres UANL Win Sixth League Title | Soccer, Translated

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.